Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1)

Print

Rating: 5 Stars
Genre: Paranormal // Historical Fiction // Urban Fantasy // Steampunk // Romance AKA, everything but the kitchen sink
Published: October 2009
Favorite Quote:

“How ghastly for her,” said Alexia, driven beyond endurance into comment. “People actually thinking, with their brains, and right next door. Oh, the travesty of it all.”

Summary taken from Goodreads:
Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.
First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.
Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.
With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

I just finished reading Soulless and I absolutely need to get the rest of the series. I’ve been saying that all day but now I really mean it since I have no more of it to read. *makes grabby hands*

I had first come across this book when I was in high school. I thought it sounded interesting but didn’t buy it since I probably didn’t have any money. Then I forgot about it.  I know, how could I?!  But never fear, the other day I was in Barnes & Noble and they had it listed in their bargain priced section.  I immediately picked it up, whispered, “You’re finally mine,” and ignored concerned onlookers to purchase it.

I started reading it and I couldn’t help but giggle. Out loud. In front of people.

“What if I arrange to be around Lord Akeldama during the full moon?”
The earl looked daggers.
“I am certain he would be extremely helpful in a fight. He could ruthlessly flatter all your attackers into abject submission.”

Characters

  • Alexia Tarabotti was perfect, witty, and entirely too amusing. What a wonderful main character! She’s intelligent, bossy, stubborn, witty, and gets herself into quite the scandalous situations.
  • Lord Maccon is an insufferable delight. His interactions with Alexia soon became my favorite thing about the book and I hated whenever he left the page.  Their banter was everything I hope for and more.
  • Lord Akeldama and Professor Lyall were brilliant side characters. Lord Akeldama’s scenes were among the ones I laughed most at. I loved the inflection in his voice and I must say, he may just be one of my favorite vampires.

A vampire, like a lady, never reveals his true age.

  • I also adored every exchange that Alexia and Ivy Hisselpenny had about Ivy’s hideous hats. I wish there was little more Ivy in the story but having her be a sounding board for Alexia worked out well.  I’m excited to see what happens to her character in the next books.

She did so like to torture Ivy.  She relished the expression of avid curiosity on her friend’s face.  On the other hand, she was also itching to tell all.

This book was ridiculous in the best possible way.  I loved the writing, the story, the setting, the characters- just all of it. More than once I wished I could interact with the characters in real life.This book made me happy. Giddy, even.  There’s something entirely too rare about a book constantly making me smile.

I know Carriger’s style isn’t for everyone but I couldn’t put this down.  There were some very yummy scenes with Alexia & Lord Maccon that I wasn’t expecting, too.  This book just had everything I could possibly want. I don’t want to give too much of it away because I didn’t know much about it when I picked it up other than the premise sounded promising.  This book is light, at times relatable, and pure joy to read.

All I have to say is that when I go out tomorrow, I better be coming home with Changeless (in the correct edition). I’m looking at you, Barnes & Noble.

Have you read any of Gail Carriger’s books? Do you adore her style as much as I do?

2 thoughts on “Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1)

  1. These books are so much fun! You have tons of fabulous reading ahead of you! I highly recommend her other two series. If you’re an audiobook listener, those are great too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are so delightful. I fully intend to read her other series as well, don’t worry. 🙂 I’m not a audiobook listener though, I get distracted too easily. But I always say I’m going to try again some day.

      Like

Leave a comment