Past, Present, and Future: July in Review

Past

It’s been a busy month.  It started with my birthday weekend in Baltimore for the Lithuanian Folk Dance Festival.  It was fun to see some people I haven’t seen in a long time.  One of my cousins and I got to hang out for the first time in a year.  We went out drinking & caught up on each other’s lives.  The festival was incredible.  There were 1,600 dancers that came together from 6 countries.

The next weekend was my Aunt’s surprise 60th Birthday Party in Covington Kentucky/Cincinnati, OH. She was so surprised and it was so much fun being with family for the weekend.
Then there was the annual Lithuanian Picnic where I got to eat Kugelis and drink gira with my dad.  I love being around Lithuanian people and hearing the language.  I don’t think that will ever get old.  It feels like home.  While there, I got to visit my grandmother’s grave and it was nice to say hi.

And last but not least, I went to a Harry Potter release party with my friend Ren.  We decorated our own wands, played some of the scavenger hunt, drank a butterbeer frappacino and generally enjoyed each other’s company.  Then, clearly, I spent the next day reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in between wandering around IKEA and Costco. I may have needed another bookcase in my life.

I surprising read a lot this month for how busy I’ve been.  I’m shocked.

Number of books read in June: 13

Giant Days, Vol. 1 by John Allison
Giant Days, Vol. 2 by John Allison
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Written in the Stars– Aisha Saeed

Books I Loved in June:

The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden
And I Darken by Kiersten White
A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn
Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

Movies seen (new to me)

  • Ghostbusters
  • Star Trek Beyond
  • Overboard

TV Shows

  • I finished Miss Fisher’s and I’m sad there’s no more.
  • Next week is the season finale of season 2 of UnREAL and I don’t know what I’m going to do after it’s over.  How can I wait A WHOLE YEAR for more!?

Present

Currently Obsessed with…

  • Harry Potter, because of course. I need to reread Harry Potter & the Cursed Child. I need to savor it this time.
  • Trailers were released and oh goodness, I can’t wait for November… there’s Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them and Moana and Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life.  I CAN’T CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT.

Currently Reading

  • Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
  • The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone

Recent Purchases

  • Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
  • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell
  • How to Talk to Girls at Parties by Neil Gaiman
  • The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone
  • It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
  • The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson
  • The Crown by Kiera Cass

Future

August is going to be quiet for me. Hoping to see more movies and do a lot more reading since there are some awesome books coming out this month.  Hold on though, can you really believe it’s August?! The year is more than half over–when the hell did that happen?

Anyway, hoping to see Suicide Squad this weekend and catch up with some friends.

As always, follow me on Twitter & add me on Goodreads & check out my Instagram.

One thought on “Past, Present, and Future: July in Review

  1. I really liked Star Trek Beyond..although not as much as the 2nd one after I rewatched the whole trilogy this month. And I really need to read And I Darken ASAP
    I’m glad you had a great month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

