Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do/Learn

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Things Book Have Made Me Want to Do or Learn About After Reading Them. This one took me a while to come up with because I never write down the things books inspire me to want to do. I really should keep a reading journal but I never think of it when I have the time to start one.  Instead I’m just going to stay here and think a while for this one.

  1. Inspired by Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson, I now want to take a road trip across the U.S. with friends stopping at landmark locations along the way.
  2. Wanderlost by Jen Malone, made me want to change careers and become a tour guide in Europe.  Then I looked it up and it no longer sounded as fun.  But it would be quite the experience…
  3. Any Susanna Kearsley book makes me want to go back to Scotland, visit Wales, and learn more about the Jacobites.  Oh, and I can’t forget that it makes me want Sticky Toffee Pudding and a Sunday roast.
  4. I’m obsessed with the world Gail Carriger created in the The Parasol Protectorate series . Fabulous vampires?  Attractive werewolves? Ghosts. Hilarity. Oh my.  I’d like to live there just so I could be caught up in all the drama.
  5. Any summer contemporary inspires me to live my summer to the fullest.  It nearly never works but a girl can dream.
  6. Lumberjanes makes me nostalgic for camp.  I want to make friendship bracelets, sleep in a bunk bed with a cabin full of friends, and be one with nature.
  7. The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden makes me want to hop on a plane to New Orleans.  There’s a university I was looking at there for my MFA and it’s getting more and more enticing…
  8. Starflight by Melissa Landers inspired me to watch Firefly (again). It also inspired my most recent Walmart cheap DVD selection.  Overboard was only $3.75 so I just HAD to get it.
  9. Any WWII book makes me want to read more about that time period.  I’m fascinated by it because it effected my family’s history.  I want to write my own book about my family’s story set during that time.
  10. To be honest, anytime a character has a strong passion for a hobby, I get ridiculous notions that I should take up that hobby.  It’s infectious the way an author describes something a character loves.  I’ve had dreams varying from getting lost in a foreign country to taking up knitting all because a character has.  I can’t say that many of these fanciful notions have stuck but it’s fun to take a look at the ones that have.

Happy Tuesday! 🙂 What’s on your list? 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do/Learn

Leave a Reply

