Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside the U.S.

It’s another Top Ten Tuesday and I am so excited by the topic this week.  Thank you, The Broke and the Bookish, for selecting Top Ten Books Set Outside the U.S. for this week! I ADORE books set outside the U.S. Truly, they might be my favorite kinds of books.  I’m going to try to choose only books I’ve read this year but I haven’t figured out if that’s possible yet.

To lead the bunch is one of my new favorite reads…

27190613 20643052 12033455 14296469 24807186

  1. And I Darken (The Conqueror’s Saga #1) by Kiersten White
    A feminist retelling of Vlad the Impaler with a female lead. Lada is strong and fierce and I love every single about this book.  Absolutely cannot wait for the rest of this trilogy!
  2.  The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley
    I can’t write a list about foreign books without mentioned Susanna Kearsley at least one.  Set in Scotland, this story is the perfect book to read on a rainy summer day.
  3. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Gaudin
    Set in Germany, Japan, and places in between this alternate retelling of the aftermath of WWII is a story not to be missed.
  4. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
    Set in England and Alexandria, this is a captivating novel that wonders what it would be like if the Great Library of Alexandria survived.
  5. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
    It’s another retelling of 1001 Arabian Nights but it’s so different from The Wrath & the Dawn.  It’s worth the read.
  6. Giant Days, Vol 1. by John Allison
    About first year Uni students in the UK.  It made me so nostalgic for my semester abroad in Scotland.
  7. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  8. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows
  9. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophia Kinsella
    Sometimes, you just need a fun Sophia Kinsella book to make you laugh your ass off.  No better place to do that than England.
  10. The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah
    One of my absolutely favorite WWII stories.  This will stay with you for a long time.

Okay, so #s 9 & 10 I did not read this year.  I tried, I really did. But they’re all wonderful books that you should read if you want to leave the country without ACTUALLY leaving the country!

Happy Tuesday Everyone! What’s on your list? 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside the U.S.

  1. I love Susanna Kearsley–The Shadowy Horses is so good, although The Winter Sea is probably my favorite. The Nightengale has been on my to-read list for a while now… I’ll have to get to it soon. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The Shadowy Horses is not my favorite, but it’s one I read this year! I love The Winter Sea & The Firebird but let’s be real, I’ll read & enjoy anything she writes!

      I totally recommend The Nightingale, it was one of my favorite novels I read last year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

