The Casquette Girls

25917801

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: November 2015
Genre: Young Adult // Paranormal

Seven girls tied by time.
Five powers that bind.
One curse to lock the horror away.
One attic to keep the monsters at bay.

After the storm of the century rips apart New Orleans, sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne wants nothing more than her now silent city to return to normal. But with home resembling a war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal needs a new definition.

As the city murder rate soars, Adele finds herself tangled in a web of magic that weaves back to her own ancestors. Caught in a hurricane of myths and monsters, who can she trust when everyone has a secret and keeping them can mean life or death? Unless . . . you’re immortal. (Summary from Goodreads)

I don’t remember what made me decide to finally get this book.  I know I saw it in my Instagram feed–I remember seeing the cover and thinking it looked unique.  I immediately added it to GR and put it in my Amazon wish list. One day, when I was online shopping, I popped it into my cart.  There it sat.  And waited.  I had a weak moment.  Two days later, it arrived on my doorstep.  I was surprised by the number of pages, it was heavier than I thought it would be.  I carried it with me on a few trips without reading it, until one fateful plane ride where I started reading and couldn’t stop.

I was enthralled with this book for the first third. While I enjoyed the rest of it, I shuddered at the love triangle and cried for the loose ends. I’m beyond excited for the next installment and I am aching for any scrap of information of its release.  The vibe of this book is very The Originals, which is completely FANTASTIC– I really enjoyed Season 1 of that show.

The story has it all.  Magic.  Vampires. Curses. Spells.  Love.  Friendship.  Family. Witches.

I adore Adele.  I love that she’s trying to find her place in the world (and her place back in her ruined city) and that she’s coming into powers she had no idea she had. It’s a lot to take in and she doesn’t always handle it well.  My favorite characters are flawed and boy does Adele have a lot going on.

I’m not sure how necessary Brooke was (Adele’s “best friend” who’s currently in L.A.)  I completely forgot about her until she was randomly brought up again at the end of the story. Hopefully she appears more in the next book.

Let’s address the love triangle for a moment.  It’s completely unnecessary and I am #TeamIsaac ALL. THE. WAY. Sure, he can be a bit of an ass but he clearly has some problems that he’s dealing with.  And he’s far more interesting  than Nicco.

Nicco calls Adele bella.  I get that he’s Italian… but Twilight vibes, much? Ugh.  Anyway.  I don’t entirely know how I feel about Nicco and the rest of the Medici clan.  They’re an interesting bunch.  I almost wanted to know more about their history and their nature.

There are some plot holes.  It’s hard to understand how other characters know things when Adele is completely oblivious to them.   Nicco seemingly knows all about Isaac from the beginning, BUT HOW!? AND WHY?  Also, how much DO the people of New Orleans know about paranormal creatures? How did Nicco know when to show up in New Orleans to find his family?  Did I miss this information somewhere?  It’s quite possible (I stayed up verrryyyy late for two nights reading).

I love Desiree, Adele, and Isaac as friends but it seems really unlikely considering their reactions to each other in the beginning.  I get that people change, I do, but their friendship wasn’t as organic as I would have liked.

Besides the characters and the plot holes, the writing drew me in. I didn’t want it to end.  Everything was described perfectly and I felt like I could imagine New Orleans perfectly.  Of course, I’d like to go to New Orleans. Now please.  In all honesty, I’ve wanted to go for a few years.  Ideally, I’d be on a road trip that would let me stay for a week (like that’s going to happen).  I’m fascinated by the culture.  The richness.  The vibrancy.  And of course, I want to go to Bourbon Street because #tourist.

It’s a place where strange things have been known to happen, but locals learn not to think twice about every little unexplainable detail; otherwise they’d go mad.

I’d read this book again.  I can’t wait to devour the next book titled, The Romeo Catchers, due out sometime maybe late this year? Or sometime 2017? I honestly have no idea when it’s being released but I know I will snatch it up the moment it is.

This is a beautiful underrated read.  Do yourself a favor and pick it up.  It’s not perfect but damn, is anything?

5 thoughts on “The Casquette Girls

Leave a Reply

