Past, Present, and Future: June in Review

I feel like I say this every month, but damn, this month went by quick.  Before I know it, it’ll be December again.  I’m so happy it’s July.  I love the summer (but hate the heat).  It feels like anything is possible in the summertime.  Plus, there’s an excess of ice-cream.   And who doesn’t love ice-cream?

Past

The most exciting thing I did this month was get my first tattoo!   I drove up to New Hampshire to spend the weekend with one of my cousins and we spent most of the weekend in bookstores, beside the tattoo bit.  One of my cousins is a fantastically talented artist and I was so pleased with how it turned out.  I was so ridiculously nervous.  It wasn’t too painful but I survived!

938968bf-e94d-42fe-9aa4-e8e3bf443edd

In case you’re wondering what it IS exactly… I’ll tell you! It’s the sound waves of my grandmother’s voice telling me “iki pasimatymo”, which means until I see you again.  In order to get the design to look that cool, there’s some other bits that she says too.  But I first watched this particular video of her talking to me after she passed away last year and it stuck with me.  It was a cool experience to have my some of my cousins with me when I got this tattoo done.  It was meaningful on many levels.

Number of books read in June:    7
Wanderlost by Jen Malone
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

26244548229266842720945526795352

Books I Loved in May
Lumberjanes, Vol 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson
Lumberjanes, Vol 3: A Terrible Plan
by Noelle Stevenson
My Lady Jane
 by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows
Romeo and/or Juliet: A Chooseable-Path Adventure by Ryan North

Movies seen (new to me)

  • Me Before You
    While the book was better, Emilia Clarke was lovely.
  • Finding Dory
    THIS WAS EVERYTHING
  • How to be Single
    Oh god, this was so relatable.  I loved it to bits.

TV Shows

  • UnReal
    It’s seriously fantastic.  I can’t recommend it enough.  I binged the first season on Hulu and the second season is currently airing on Lifetime.
  • Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries
    Simply delightful. It’s on Netflix and I just finished season 1 and am almost done with season 2! #addicted

Present

Currently Obsessed with…

Nothing different actually.  I’m just happy it’s summer and ice-cream shops are open all the time.  In case you were wondering, my favorite flavor is coffee oreo and peanut butter cup.

Currently Reading

And I Darken by Kiersten White
The Invisble Library by Genevieve Cogman

Music
HandClap – Fitz & The Tantrums
Love Myself  – Hailee Steinfeld
Roses -The Chainsmokers
Cleopatra – The Lumineers
Geronimo – Sheppard
Cake by the Ocean – DNCE

Recent Purchases
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
The View From The Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

(and like a million others– I couldn’t possibly list them all)

Future

Guys, it’s my birthday!!

Right after work I’ll be on my way to Baltimore for a fun weekend in the city celebrating my birthday and all things Lithuanian.  Look out, world!  The whole reason I’m going to Baltimore is because it’s Soki Svente (which I’ll talk more about in the wrap up for July).  I love being Lithuanian and I love celebrating birthdays! It should be a fantastic 4th of July weekend.

I hope you all had a wonderful June and that you’ll have a great time celebrating the 4th of July this weekend! 

As always, follow me on Twitter & add me on Goodreads & check out my Instagram. 

8 thoughts on “Past, Present, and Future: June in Review

Leave a Reply

