The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks

22926684

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: May 2015
Genre: Nonfiction // Feminism // Pop Culture
Favorite Quote: 

Trust: I know how hard is not to just freak out all the time about your current obsession.  But flailing, squeezing, and swooning all the time can scare off the uninitiated.

Sam Maggs is hilarious.  Check out some of her other writing on her website here.  In The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Geek Girls, she looks at different fandoms and how being a feminist geek girl, at any level, is empowering.

When I started this, I was so happy with it.  But as I read further, I realized most of the content was unnecessary.  I think Sam Maggs would be an awesome person to hang out with and there were a ton of moments that made me laugh out loud.

But over all, I think it was lacking a little.  This book had so much potential.  Instead of asking the same questions to all those interviewed, I think many different geeky/fangirl questions could have been asked.  Even though I was excited to read the answers of some of my favorite people, I stopped caring about them after a while.

Some of the chapters made me happy, like Aim to Misbehave: Geek Girl Feminism.  Included in the chapter is information about feminism, yay! And it includes “The Geek Girl’s Litany for Feminism” which is pretty great.

The information about the cons is good and simultaneously annoying.  I liked how Maggs listed and explained some of the geek cons that take place throughout the year.  Some of them I’ve heard of but didn’t know much about and others I’ve never heard of. I liked having a list of them in one place.  What I didn’t like is information about how to attend a con.  It gave a lot of common sense information that made my eyes glaze over.  It would have been better suited to a blog post than this book.

I think it’s a fun, cute book.  I’m glad I was able to get online at Book Outlet.  I’m mostly happy with it but there are parts that didn’t hold up for me.  But I’m going to definitely check out her next book, Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History.  

Check out the quiz, “What kind of fangirl are you?” here!  (I’m a Disnerd, duh– -but also a Whedonite, Potterhead, and YA Book Nerd among others not listed).
What kind of fangirl are YOU? 

2 thoughts on “The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks

  1. This looks really interesting! Based on what you say about the chapters, I feel like I’ll feel similarly to you–like some chapters will feel funnier/more relevant than others!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are definitely parts you’ll love/find amusing and others you’ll wonder why they’re there. But any fangirl should at least just skim through it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

