Lumberjanes, Vol 3: A Terrible Plan

25761329

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: April 2016
Genre: Graphic Novel // Young Adult // Fantasy-Adventure
Favorite Quote: 

Things go bump in the night, it’s basically the best time to go bump if one had to choose a timeframe.

In this collected edition of Lumberjanes #9-12, things have calm down a little bit for the Lumberjanes.  It’s a free day which can only mean trouble for the campers.   Mal and Molly go on a picnic together but of course, nothing goes as planned, especially when they run into the Bear Woman!  Meanwhile, April, Ripley, and Jo are trying to get some of the more mundane badges.

Written by: Noelle Stevenson & Shannon Watters
Illustrated by: Carolyn Nowak (chapters 10-12)

img_8712

First of all, the style of the art has changed a bit because of the new artist.  It’s more subdued and less frantic but still very weird and vivid.

<—- I’d like to point out that April’s reading Rookie Yearbook.  WHAT.  How freaking cool?

If only my camp experience was this crazy.  I never went to Girl Scout camp so that’s the only thing that I can think of that is mildly comparable–trying to get badges and having a group of strong women. But it makes me miss the nostalgic moments of camp: bonfires, s’mores, cabins, ghost stories, nature…

img_8713I just can’t get over this.  I love it to a million little tiny pieces.  I want to be friends with them all.  Can I please?

The scenarios just keep getting more and more ridiculous (which is exceedingly fantastic).

I like getting know each one of the Lumberjanes more and more through each story.  And Jen! -their fearful (but getting a little more fearless every story) leader, too! Though, I don’t know if I have a favorite character yet.  If I do, it might be April or Mal.  Though, all of them are exceedingly unique and have fully formed separate personalities that mesh so well together.

I still think the writing is top-notch. It makes me giggle and I always finish the books grinning.  They just make me happy.

The next collected edition of Lumberjanes comes out in July and I am beyond stoked. Yay!

Have you read Lumberjanes yet? What’s stopping you? 

3 thoughts on “Lumberjanes, Vol 3: A Terrible Plan

Leave a Reply

