Lumberjanes, Vol 1: Beware the Kitten Holy

22554204

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: April 2015
Genre: Graphic Novel // Young Adult // Fantasy-Adventure
Favorite Quote: 

These five feisty young ladies are in for quite the summer at Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp for hard-core lady-types.  Nothing is as it seems.

This is the collected edition of Lumberjanes #1-4 written by Noelle Stevenson & Grace Ellis and illustrated by Brooke Allen. I knew the minute I picked this up, I was going to love it. Plus, helllloooo feminist graphic novel.
img_8652
It did disappoint me that Noelle Stevenson just drew the cover art and not the entire thing.  But a ton of talented people worked on it so that’s okay.

The story seemed a little silly and juvenile at times but it was also hilarious and heartwarming.  I wish I had these to read when I was growing up.  It makes me feel nostalgic for my experience at camp.

Bottom line though, this book is about female friendships.  About sticking together through whatever gets thrown at you and recognizing that everyone is different but has something unique to contribute.  These girls all have very different and distinct personalities and that’s so wonderful.

Some of the lines are just A++.  I can’t handle them.  If you like cute, funny things about girls who kick ass, this is it.  Read this.  I highly recommend to everyone.

I cannot wait to read the rest.  I already bought Volumes 2 & 3 because I knew I was going to want them ASAP.

Have you discovered Lumberjanes, yet? What are you waiting for? 

2 thoughts on “Lumberjanes, Vol 1: Beware the Kitten Holy

Leave a Reply

