Cinema Saturday: Me Before You

Me_Before_You_(film)

Based on: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Check out my review of the book here
Released in theaters: June 3rd, 2016
Directed by:  Thea Sharrock
Screenplay by: Jojo Moyes
Starring: Emilia Clarke, Sam Claffin, Matthew Lewis, Jenna Coleman, Janet McTeer, Charles Dance
Film Trailer

“You can’t change who people are.”
“Then what can you do?”
“You love them.”

tumblr_o4n3woTG9x1vpsuouo1_500

 

What I Loved

  • I loved that my favorite line were included in the film.  That’s what happens when the author is the screenplay writer, too.
  • It was a truly fantastic cast.  I loved all the choices, especially Emilia Clarke.  She was the perfect Lou.
  • Watching this film was like coming home, you just get this feeling of rightness.  That’s how I felt watching these actors portray these beautiful characters.  It felt natural.  It felt like it already happened.  I’m doing a terrible job of explaining this feeling but it was probably just because I watched the trailer for it a million and one times.

Adaptation

  • I felt that all the actors perfectly portrayed the characters.  It was perfectly cast.
  • Lou and Treena’s relationship in the film was much more civil than in the book.  They didn’t bicker at all.
  • Clearly, you can’t include everything in an adaptation.  I think it was a good version of the story.  It could have been a tad longer and included more of what was missing but the most important bits were included and side plots/stories that were unnecessary were smartly not included.  For instance, I didn’t even realize Will’s sister was missing.
  • Lou’s relationship with Patrick wasn’t mentioned that much and their break up wasn’t even that obvious. I kind of forgot about him until he would just appear.
  • The book talked more about Will’s disability than the movie did and a lot of people are mad about it.  With good reason.  The marketing campaign for this movie is #LiveBoldly but it’s directed towards Lou instead of Will.  Read more here. And here.
  • For a more in depth look at what was missing, read this article from Bustle.

I don’t want to go in yet.  I just want to be a man who’s been to a concert with a girl in a red dress a few minutes more.

tumblr_o22tsns74i1sgmr61o1_500

Ehh Moments

  • There was just something off about the whole thing.  It didn’t add up: great cast, good screenplay, but it fell flat.
  • I felt detached from the emotional aspect.  I thought for sure I was going to cry a helluva lot more than I did.

Would I Recommend?
Oh totally.  Though, I do recommend reading the book, as well.  It was one of my favorites of this year and while I greatly enjoyed the movie, the book was better.  I’ll still be buying this on DVD because there’s parts that I can’t wait to rewatch.  Plus, I just want to watch Emilia Clarke as Lou forever.

Have you read Me Before You? What did you think of the movie? 

5 thoughts on “Cinema Saturday: Me Before You

  1. I’m so glad to hear Emilia Clarke did well in this role. I might see it just for her. Before seeing the movie I want to read the book, so I’d better get on that. Thanks for the review, esp. the warning that there’s something a little flat about the overall feel of the film. It’s strange when that happens, like everything is in place–actors, cinematography, writing, etc.–but still a movie can lack that necessary bit of sparkle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She truly shines as Lou–and if that’s the only reason to go see it, it’s a compelling one! There are moments that truly shine but then there’s a bit missing in some of the moments that really packed a punch in the book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great way of breaking it down. I haven’t watched the movie yet but I’ve read the book (and loved it) so there weren’t any spoilers for me. I think Emilia Clarke is a perfect choice for Lou, as soon as I heard they cast her I was very happy. Looking forward to checking this one out on the big screen. Anyhow, great read, are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I have a letterboxd account but I don’t post detailed reviews there. It’s more just for me to keep track of what movies I’ve seen/liked, etc. I would like to write more movie reviews but book reviews keep me busy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cool! Well, If you’re up for it, I’d love to help you get your writing seen on Moviepilot/Creators. I’d love to hear from you if you’re interested. You can find my contact details on my ‘About’ page.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

