The Unexpected Everything

17838528

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: May 2016
Genre: Young Adult // Contemporary
Favorite Quote: 

I could do this. If whole galaxies could change, so could I.

Andie had it all planned out.
When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.
Important internship? Check.
Amazing friends? Check.
Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).
But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.
Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.
And where’s the fun in that?  Summary taken from Goodreads.

Reading this has definitely gotten me in the mood for summer.  I miss the feeling of endless possibilities, of adventure, relaxation, and hope.

I have to be real, I didn’t get into it at first.  I don’t know how to explain it.  But I powered through becasue I chalked it up to reading fantasies for my last few books.  But I’m such a sucker for summer contemporaries/romances.  I have adored Matson’s previous books, so I knew I had to get this right away.

Once I got to the 100 page mark, I was hooked.  I stayed up late two nights in a row in order to finish it.  It’s the perfect book for summer.  It’s about friendships, romances, family, loss (and how it changes you), and clearly, unexpected plans.

I love that Matson sets her stories in the same fictional town  because I love the small peeks at her previous characters/places.  I know other authors do it too, and it’s one of my favorite things.

I will be keeping an eye out for more of Matson’s work.  She quickly became one of my favorite contemporary YA authors right up there with Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot.

Theoretical crushes could remain perfect and flawless, because you never actually had to find out what that person was really like or deal with the weird way they chewed or anything.

Clark.  I love you Clark.  But all the nerdy boys I know do not have a knockout smile AND washboard abs.  I’m going to say it’s unrealistic- but I will say that it’s unlikely (at least in my world) because I have yet to see it.  Maybe I just haven’t met one yet… if so, CAN YOU HURRY UP DUDE? I’D LIKE TO DATE YOU.

These are the friendships I wish I had.  It reminds me of an updated, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.  These girls have such an awesome bond and female friendships are SO important.

Why the ever cliche, she “stole my bf/crush thing and I can’t believe she didn’t think of my feelings” trope.  I mean, come on.  I know it happens all the time in real life– confession time, I was once a Bri.  But ugh, I hate reading about it.  One of my least favorite tropes. I actually like love triangles more.

At points, I think there was a little too much going on here.  Especially with Clark & Andie. She talks about how she doesn’t go far with boys but then suddenly she’s changing her mind.  Which is fine, she has all the power to do that but then because of everything that ends up happening, the thing she talked about wanting to happen, doesn’t happen.  At least not explicitly.  It’s just weird.

Despite my minor problems with it, I still felt giddy reading it.  It was lighthearted and fun.

What’s your favorite Morgan Matson book? What do you like to read in the summer? 

2 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything

  1. The Unexpected Everything is definitely kind of long for a contemporary novel – it took a while for me to get into it too, but OMG, the summer feels are absolutely real! 😛

    I also think Clark is a bit unrealistic, haha – I didn’t really care for him, though. Great review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, he totally is. But he had me pining for a nerdy writer boy. He bothered me at times but I thought he was adorable in his awkwardness.

      Thanks! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

