Double Down (Lois Lane #2)

27818091

Rating:  3.5 Stars
Published: May 2016
Genre: Young Adult // Superheroes // Mystery// Contemporary
Favorite Quote

Courage doesn’t mean never being afraid.  We’re all afraid sometimes.  Bravery means dong the right thing anyway.  That’s true strength.

Lois Lane has settled in to her new school. She has friends, for maybe the first time in her life. She has a job that challenges her. And her friendship is growing with SmallvilleGuy, her online maybe-more-than-a-friend. But when her friend Maddy’s twin collapses in a part of town she never should’ve been in, Lois finds herself embroiled in adangerous mystery that brings her closer to the dirty underbelly of Metropolis. (Summary from Goodreads)

I was so excited for the first book.  I was lucky enough to get a copy at BookCon last year and I’ve been freaking out ever since.  It was the first book I read from my stash and I adored it.  Now I’ve been waiting for an entire year to get my hands on the sequel and I have not be patient.

Following Gwenda Bond on Twitter has help satiate my need for a book.  But that’s about it.  I mostly just freak out when she talks about book news.

This book, guys. I can’t handle it.   I love that Lois has text/chat messages with SmallvilleGuy.  They’re ridiculously adorable.  And they support each other.  They don’t expect each other to NOT do dangerous thing but they understand they have to do what needs to be done.

My knowledge of Lois & Lucy Lane has been slim.  I used to watch Smallville when I was younger but I haven’t seen any of the Superman movies.  Now I’m watching Supergirl on CBS and loving the crap out of it.  Sure, it has more of a focus on Lucy but that’s fine.  It still gives some insight.  Now I have these books and I love that they’re from Lois’s perspective.  I love that she’s kicking ass on her own.  She’s like a more journalism-inclined Veronica Mars.

The writing was a little simplistic and it didn’t have me as hooked into the story.  This just could have been a matter of circumstance because I had just been on a reading binge when I picked this up.  To be fair, I didn’t really feel reading a whole lot anyway.  Maybe I just built up how much I liked the first one in my mind so this fell a little short for me. But, that doesn’t mean I’m not excited for any more installments.

“Why did I have the impression buildings like this become squats and things?” I asked no one in particular.  “Is this a stereotype I have about bad neighborhoods?” I might have moved around a lot, but I was under no illusions about the level of privilege I had.  I wanted to be called on it if I was making bad assumptions based on watching too many movies and not knowing enough about the actual neighborhood we were in.” This was way too preachy.  I’m a partial sociology major and no.  Just no.  I’m glad it was addressed (like, OH SO GLAD) but it could have been done more tactfully.  Or just differently.  It rubbed me the wrong way. It’s something that I’m happy was said but made me cringe.

“And then the ceiling fell in and it turned out the entire Daily Planet Building had collapsed under alien attack,” I said.  “Everyone died, the end.”
“Huh,” he said.
“And I’ll be starring in a musical version of these dark events.”
No reaction.

I like the wit. The one-liners made this worth it.  Bond certainly knows how to entertain. I’m looking forward to reading some of her other books, too, because I do enjoy her writing.

These books are so much fun! If you enjoyed Fallout, you’ll like this. So what are you waiting for? I’m not going to bore with you with plot details… go read it!

Leave a Reply

