Once Upon A Dream (Twisted Tales #2)

26031261
Rating:
1 Star/ DNF
Published: April 2016
Genre: Young Adult // Fairytale Retelling // Fantasy

What if the sleeping beauty never woke up? Once Upon a Dreammarks the second book in a new YA line that reimagines classic Disney stories in surprising new ways.
It should be simple–a dragon defeated, a slumbering maiden, a prince poised to wake her. But when said prince falls asleep as soon as his lips meet the princess’s, it is clear that this fairy tale is far from over.
With a desperate fairy’s last curse infiltrating her mind, Princess Aurora will have to navigate a dangerous and magical landscape deep in the depths of her dreams. Soon she stumbles upon Phillip, a charming prince eager to join her quest. But with Maleficent’s agents following her every move, Aurora struggles to discover who her true allies are, and moreover, who she truly is. Time is running out. Will the sleeping beauty be able to wake herself up? Summary taken from Goodreads.

Within the first few pages, I knew this was going to be a problem. I didn’t like the narrative. But I persevered (a little) because I am a sucker for fairy tale retellings.

Full disclosure: I did not read the first one, nor have I had good luck with Disney Hyperion’s retellings as of late.  I think they may just need to stick with Once Upon a Time on ABC and call it a day. (Yes, I’m aware it’s a different section of the company but I think Disney is going a LITTLE overboard with fairy tale retellings in general anyway.)

The writing is simple and childish. The conversations sound fake/ like someone overacting in drama class. I can’t plausibly believe the story line.

It’s a pretty cover with an interesting idea but poor poor execution.  I just couldn’t do it. Others may end up liking this book, especially if they liked the first one but it just wasn’t for me.

Did not finish this book at 10%.

Thank you, Net Galley, for providing me a copy for review copy in exchange for
an
honest review. 

3 thoughts on “Once Upon A Dream (Twisted Tales #2)

  1. Thank GOD I’m not the only one that DNF’d this! I have yet to write up my DNF review but you’re lucky you stopped early, I made it 35% and it was just awful. You’re correct about the narrative style, it was the most irritating thing to try and read through! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I legitimately could not believe how awful it was. I never DNF books– I put them down and come back to them years later but I knew no amount of time would make this book worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

