Top Ten Tuesday: Books Every Feminist Should Read

This week on The Broke and the Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday is Ten Books Every X Should Read.  I choose to compile a list that all feminists should read. Feminists support all women– should read all kinds of narratives.  Most of these are my favorite books I read in sociology/women’s studies classes. Others are ones that I’ve read on my own.

  1. for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
    Ntozake Shange


    without any assistance or guidance from you
    i have loved you assiduously for 8 months 2 wks & a day
    i have been stood up four times
    i’ve left 7 packages on yr doorstep
    forty poems 2 plants & 3 handmade notecards i left
    town so i cd send to you have been no help to me
    on my job
    you call at 3:00 in the mornin on weekdays
    so i cd drive 27 1/2 miles cross the bay before i go to work
    charmin charminbut you are of no assistance
    i want you to know
    this waz an experiment
    to see how selifsh i cd be
    if i wd really carry on to snare a possible lover
    if i waz capable of debasin my self for the love of another
    if i cd stand not being wanted
    when i wanted to be wanted
    & i cannot
    so
    with no further assistance & no guidance from you
    i am endin this affair

    this note is attached to a plant
    i’ve been waterin since the day i met you
    you may water it
    yr damn self”

  2. Sex Work: Writings by Women in the Sex Industry- Frederique Delacoste (editor)
    Women describing what it’s like to be in the sex industry- all parts of it.  It’s incredible reading how these women write abotu their experiences. Highly recommend.
  3. Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches – Audre Lorde

    “You do not have to be me in order for us to fight alongside each other. I do not have to be you to recognize that our wars are the same. What we must do is commit ourselves to some future that can include each other and to work toward that future with the particular strengths of our individual identities. And in order for us to do this, we must allow each other our differences at the same time as we recognize our sameness.”

  4. The Vagina Monologues – Eve Ensler
    I highly recommend this play but if you can’t see wonderful women perform this then I would tell you to read this.

    I bet you’re worried. I was worried. I was worried about vaginas. I was worried about what we think about vaginas, and even more worried that we don’t think about them.

  5. The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories – Angela Carter
    I had to read parts of this for a college class and I absolutely loved it.  If you enjoy fairy tale retellings, this is a good addition to your collection.  They’re thought-provoking and sometimes not at all what you’d expect.  You may not like every story and that’s okay.
  6. Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide- Nicholas D. Kristof & Sheryl WuDunn
    Non-fiction about women around the world in developing countries. If you consider yourself a global citizen, read this.
  7. The House on Mango Street Sandra Cisernos
    This has a lot of mixed reviews but I read it during a Women’s Stories class and I adored it.  It could have had to do with my professor and the discussions surrounding the book, I’m not sure.  But it’s important to read all kinds of narratives.
  8. The Paper Bag Princess- Robert Munsch
    One of my favorite children’s books when I was little– the beginning of my feminist journey and I didn’t even know it!

Feminists books on my lists: 

  1. The Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg- Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margret Atwood
  3. The Awakening- Kate Chopin
  4. We Should All Be Feminists– Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  5. Only Ever Yours & Asking For It – LouiseO’Neill
14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Every Feminist Should Read

  1. All of the recommendations! Thank you so much, so I am going to give you one; Men explain things to me by Rebecca Solnit. Its a collection of feminist essays and its brilliant, cover so many topics from the feminist perspective. Highly recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooo, I will be adding these to my to-read list! I had to read The Bloody Chamber for a class in my early college years, and remember not really liking it. I think it was because I really didn’t like my professor, though. So hearing that you liked it definitely makes my need to reread it even greater! I hope you like We Should All Be Feminists when you get to it. It’s a very powerful and moving piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay! I can’t wait to hear what you think of some of them. I really need to do a reread of all of them. And it’s perpetually making its way into my Amazon account but then I trade it out with something else. I have such #bookproblems.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

