Named of the Dragon

25381376

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: (First published July 1998) Reprinted by Sourcebooks October 2015
Genre: Adult Fiction // Contemporary
Favorite Quote

“You really don’t have any scruples, do you?”
“God, no.  Horrible things, scruples,” she said, with a shudder. “They get in the way of my fun.

The invitation to spend Christmas in Angle, on the Pembrokeshire coast, is one that Lyn Ravenshaw is only too happy to accept. To escape London and the pressures of her literary agency is temptation enough, but the prospect of meeting Booker Prize nominee James Swift – conveniently in search of an agent – is the deciding factor.  On holiday she encounters the disturbing Elen Vaughan, recently widowed and with an eight-month-old son whose paternity is a subject for local gossip. Elen’s baby arouses painful memories of Lyn’s own dead child and strange, haunting dreams, in which a young woman in blue repeatedly tries to hand over her child to Lyn for safekeeping.

Who is the father of Elen’s baby? What is the eerie, monstrous creature of Elen’s dreams that tries to ensnare her son, and what makes her so sure that Lyn has been sent to protect him?  As she begins to untangle the truth behind the stories, the secret she discovers leads Lyn to an encounter with the past that will change her life forever. Summary taken from Goodreads.

First of all, I love that they’re releasing Kearsley’s books to match the novels that were first released by Sourcebooks.  They’re all beautiful and matchy and it’s great.

Parts of this book lost me. I was slightly confused at what was happening.  The novel was still enjoyable to read because Kearsley’s character are so vibrant and tangible.  I might have said that before about a different book but it’s still true.  I love her writing, I do but this one wasn’t a favorite of mine.  The link to the past was tenuous and at times, confusing.  This book could have benefited from being longer in order for more explanation or more something  at least.

Lyn struggles with her guilt over losing her baby and has to focus on the present.  Her client, Bridget takes her on holiday with a bunch of people she doesn’t know (which, personally, I would have hated).  It feels like this group has been friends for a long time even though Lyn has never met any of them before. Bridget is a trip.  But wickedly fun to read about.  There’s wasn’t a whole lot of information about Lyn’s previous life which made me feel a bit disconnected from her character.

I wish there were more scenes with Gareth because he was interesting. He was understandably aloof and sometimes annoying which made his attraction to Lyn a little curious and out of nowhere.  James would awkwardly disappear and I kept getting the feeling he was up to something.  Christopher was hardly needed as a character.  I liked the secondary characters. Elen is mysterious and I wanted to know more about her but simultaneously didn’t entirely care.

Kearsley’s writing is very much like real life (paranormal parts nonwithstanding).  The conversations feel real, the character’s reactions/ actions are believable.  Nothing is overdone is too dramatic (not for the most part anyway).

I don’t know a whole lot about Arthurian legends and frankly, the characters confuse me sometimes– I can’t keep them straight.  I really need to read a book about Arthur and then I’ll understand the relationships/names/characters.  Like, The Mists of Avalon or something.  Any other recommendations? 

Can I go to Wales, please? Can I also be a character in one of Kearsley’s novels? I have simple goals, people.

 

Leave a Reply

