Starflight

21793182Rating: 4.5 Stars
Published: February 2016
Genre: YA // Sci-fi // Adventure
Favorite Quote:

“It wasn’t fair that people couldn’t pick their own families.”

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She’s so desperate to reach the realm that she’s willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he’s been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe… (Summary taken from Goodreads)

Starflight, in other words Firefly meets Overboard meets YA fiction,  a perfect mashup.

I was so excited that this book was in the February Uppercase Box because it had been on my radar for a while (thanks book blogging community) and I hoped the comparisons to Firefly wouldn’t let me down.  In case I’ve never mentioned it, I’m a HUGE Firefly/Joss Whedon fan.  Browncoat FOREVER.  Ahem,  in any case, the book came signed. *squeeeee*

I can’t stop staring at the cover of this book. It’s just so pretty, especially in person. The story was engaging and fun. It made me want to watch Firefly again.

The crew of the Banshee was a joy to read about.  I loved how well Solara & Doran adapted to the crew.

“Sister Agnes used to say that trust was like a flower unfolding in the sun: The more you opened yourself in the warmth of this world, the more of God’s blessings you would receive.  But in Solara’s experience, trust was like a switchblade: Give it away too quickly, and expect to find a knife in your back.”

I loved all the characters. This book made me smile and I fell in love with the entire crew.  I laughed out loud.  Reading about these characters made me want to be friends with them. I want more adventures! The companion novel won’t be the same…

“No scarf tonight?” the captain asked, pointing at Solara’s neck.
“I guess you finally beat that cold virus.”
“I don’t believe she had a cold,” Renny said thoughtfully.
“I’ll bet it was the Hoover flu. You know, named after the old vacuum cleaners on Earth?”
“Oh, I’ve heard of that disease,” Cassia chimed in. “Doesn’t it cause a rash that looks like suction marks? Highly contagious when mixed with cute guys and Crystalline?”

I don’t want to say too much more about the book only because I didn’t know a whole lot about it before I read it and I think that’s a good way of reading it.

I must say though, there was a *twist* that I totally saw coming but I’m not sure if that was intentional or not.  There were some clues but I could just be a good guesser.

There were a couple things I didn’t like…

I am a firm believer in that sci-fi should different than the current time- in speech and technology, especially.  Because more anything, language and technology rapidly evolves.  The inclusion of current language didn’t distract but I would have liked to see something more like what they did with Firefly (mix of languages & their own popular phrases, like shiny.)

Also, was it just me, or was it not diverse enough? That seems odd for the future.

There also wasn’t enough world-building.  I had an basic understanding of what was going on but I felt like it wasn’t enough.  It’s like if you got a run-down of history, you miss all the details until you get in-depth knowledge of one subject.  Oh! Perfect example- Starflight is U.S. History taught for one semester and Hamilton would be the in-depth look that we’re missing about a specific topic. I hope that makes sense. It probably doesn’t.  I apologize.

The things I didn’t like didn’t change my thoughts on the book that much, however. They were minor enough compared to how much I liked the story and the characters.

“She hadn’t realized until that moment, but that’s what the people on this ship were to her.  At some point during this haphazzard journey, she’d fallen in love with a bespectacled kleptomaniac, a star-crossed seducer and his displaced princess, and, most of all, an infuriating blue blood who used to call her Rattail.  She’d learned that home was a fluid thing, and whether on a planet, on a satellite, or on a rusted bucket of a ship, this crew was her home.”

If you love sci-fi, you’ll love this. Even if sci-fi isn’t your go-to, I’d recommend this.
Is Starflight on your TBR yet? 

2 thoughts on “Starflight

Leave a Reply

