Kings Rising (Captive Prince Trilogy, Book Three)

25810368

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: February 2016
Genre: Fantasy // Romance // LGBTQ+ // Adult
Favorite Quote: 

I think if I gave you my heart, you would treat it tenderly.

Now that Damen has been revealed as Damianos of Akielos, he must face Laurent as his true self.  Laurent is about to face off against his uncle, The Regent, and his true colors will be revealed. Meanwhile, Damen needs to get back to Akielos in order to reclaim his throne from his half-brother Kastor.  

THIS BOOK. THIS PERFECT PERFECT END TO A TRILOGY. It’s incredibly gratifying but also a completely perfect ending for these characters. The ending is marginally predictable but the way they get to where they end up is completely original and kept me guessing every at every page. I couldn’t put this book down once I started it.  I mean, I had to stop reading in order to go to work but I was thinking about it until I could pick it back up again.

Laurent amazes me.  I adore his mind, the way he sees a situation.  He’s cunning, clever, and perfect.  Damen is his perfect match.  They complete each other and know how to play to each other’s strengths.  They are my favorite romance genre ship.

I love how when new people are introduced to Laurent and his antics, they have no idea what they’re getting into. They look to Damen and he’s like, lolz idk either– I just go along with it.  It’s pretty fantastic.  I love how much trust Damen has for Laurent even though he can’t begin to understand his thought process.

“Is today the first time you’ve been beaten in an okton?’
‘Technically, it was a draw,’ said Damen.
‘Technically. I told you I was quite good at riding. I used to beat Auguste all the time when we raced at Chastillon. It took me until I was nine to realise he was letting me win. I just thought I had a very fast pony. You’re smiling.”

I’m still in awe of this book.  I started this book feeling so angry and frustrated with things that happened. Then my heart slowly thawed and I melted into a mushy pile of goo.  I can’t even put into words how much this book made me feel. So I’m just going to end this review by saying that I adored this book and wish it didn’t end.

Have you read this series? Are you obsessed like I am? 

Leave a Reply

