Prince’s Gambit (Captive Prince Trilogy, Book Two)

23398894Rating: 5 Stars
Published: July 2015
Genre: Romance // Fantasy // Adult // LGBTQ+
Favorite Quote:

“I lack,” said Laurent, “the easy mannerisms that are usually shared with,” you could see him pushing the words out, “a lover.”
“You lack the easy mannerisms that are usually shared with anyone,” said Damen.

Summary taken from Goodreads:
With their countries on the brink of war, Damen and his new master, Prince Laurent, must exchange the intrigues of the palace for the sweeping might of the battlefield as they travel to the border to avert a lethal plot.

Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself increasingly drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow…

This book moves a lot faster than the first.  I devoured it.  Word of warning, you’ll want to get your hands on the last book the second you finish this one.  I unfortunately had to wait, I survived, but I don’t want you to suffer like I did.

This book made me feel a gambit of emotions.  HAH. Gambit. Get it? *ahem* Anyway, I was so nervous for most of the book.  The anticipation was strong and I was so worried it wouldn’t happen.  It’s a long wait, but believe me, it’s worth it.  There’s a reason this ship is strong.

To get what you want, you have to know exactly how much you are willing to give up.

Never had he wanted something this badly, and held it in his hands knowing that tomorrow it would be gone, traded for the high cliffs of Ios, and the uncertain future across the border, the chance to stand before his brother, to ask him for all the answers that no longer seemed important. A kingdom, or this.

While the first book was mostly character building, this felt like coming home to old friends. I knew these characters, I felt like I was in their world.

This is my first m/m romance series nor is the romance genre my typical go-to but this series is so addicting.  Romance books are fun but can get a little ridiculous which is why I don’t read too many.  There’s too much insta-love which can get very annoying.  But if there were more books like this trilogy, I’d read romance novels all the time.  Damen and Laurent have the perfect speed and balance with their relationship.

I finished this book rather quickly. And I may have thrown it across the room when it was over.  It wasn’t a cliffhanger ending, per say… but something happened that was slightly unexpectedly and made you want to continue with the next immediately.

Have you started this series yet? It’s bloody fantastic. 

4 thoughts on “Prince’s Gambit (Captive Prince Trilogy, Book Two)

    1. The focus on the characters is something you don’t always see and it made this series special. It’s just so crazy good. I didn’t want the last book to end!

      Like

      1. I had a book hangover after finishing the third book. 😦 The characterization and writing really shines throughout each book. I ship these two so hard!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

