The Heir (The Selection #4)

22918050Rating:  4 Stars
Published: May 2015
Genre:  YA // Fantasy // Romance
Favorite Quote:

I’m not sure anyone knows what they’re looking for until they find it.

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.
But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.
Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought. (Summary taken from Goodreads.)

How beautiful is this cover? It’s so gorgeous.  I have to say though, I bought this from the  Book Depository so I could get it in paperback — and I’ll do the same with The Crown.

I devoured the first 3 of this series in one weekend.  I just kept buying them on my Kindle. But by the time I actually got around to reading this one, I forgot everything that happened to American and Maxon except that they love each other.  Oops.

Characters

  • Eadlyn isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but I adored her.   She can be a bit harsh to the boys but in her defense, no one gave her useful advice on how to treat the contestants. 
  • Kile is my favorite pick for her.  It’s so cliche but I can’t help loving that.
  • Henri is my other favorite just because she’s such a gentlemen and a good cook to boot!
  • Ahren, Eadlyn’s twin brother, is not what I expected.  I was hoping the two of them would have a closer relationship and he would be there for her every step of the way.
  • It was cool to see Maxon & America all grow up.  I love Maxon as a dad & King.

Let’s talk plot for a second, it’s more fluffy than the other Selection books and I kind of love it for that.  There was lot going on with rebels and assassination attempts and deaths in the others. This has a hint of that but not as much.  I’m glad the focus is more on Eadlyn and her interactions with the contestants.  I like seeing it from the point of view of the one trying to juggle giving everyone a fair shot.

I like that there’s still a weight Eadlyn has to bear, that’s there is truly a reason behind the Selection.  I think it sucks that Eadlyn grew up thinking she would never have to participate in one.  I can’t imagine what that’s like– being told you don’t have to do something your parents went through but then it’s decided you do.  There are much more serious situations than a selection that this applies to but still.

In any case,  this was adorable.  I absolutely cannot wait for last one.

Have you read The Selection series? Do you like America or Eadlyn better as a main character?

4 thoughts on “The Heir (The Selection #4)

Leave a Reply

