Top Ten Tuesday: Songs I Wish Were Stories

Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke & the Bookish, this week is really cool. There were two options and I chose Ten Songs I Wish Were Books.  I get really obsessive & protective about my music.  I’m mostly into singer/songwriter but I typically like a little from every genre.

So, without further ado, on with the list!  (If you click on the link, it takes you to a Youtube video for the song.)

  1. Lay Me Down – The Dirty Heads
    This is one of those songs that I can picture so clearly.  I would really love to read it, though.
  2. Take Me to Church -Hozier
    Really just the entire album, but if I had to pick one this would be it or Like Real People Do. (And can we just talk about how amazing this music video is? It kills me.)
  3. Sometime Around Midnight – The Airborne Toxic Event
  4. Poison & Wine – The Civil Wars
    This is the same principle as Hozier.  I’d pick all their music if I could.  Runner up is Barton Hollow, which I can picture as a Western.  (Also, I’m still not over the fact that Joy Williams & John Paul White are no longer making music together.)
  5. Send My Love (To Your New Lover)– Adele
  6. Samson -Regina Spektor
    Doesn’t this song make you want to know about Samson?
  7. The Chain- Ingrid Michaelson
    My go-to is classic Ingrid (but I do love her new album to pieces). I have a story about this song, when I was in high school & carpooling with friends we’d sing this song together, the 4 of us in a round like they do at the end.  It was crazy cool.  I miss singing. That was a boring story, I’m sorry.
  8. Classy Girls -The Lumineers
  9. Stay With Me – Sam Smith
    I could see this as a NA novel, probably written by CoHo, let’s be real.
  10. Snow May Be Falling – The Sweeplings
    Because I need another Christmas/Winter love story.

I’m sure all these stories would kill me if they were books. And I’m perfectly okay with that.

I’m going to post this and then 10 minutes later think of a killer song that would fit perfectly.  I listened to so much music to find these songs– and they don’t all fit like I want them to but that’s okay.

What’s on your TTT? Happy Tuesday everyone!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Songs I Wish Were Stories

Leave a Reply

