Me Before You

15507958Rating: 5 Stars
Published: December 2012
Genre: Adult Fiction // Contemporary // Romance
Favorite Quote:

The thing about being catapulted into a whole new life–or at least, shoved up so hard against someone else’s life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window–is that it forces you to rethink your idea of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.

Lou Clark is trying to figure out what to do with life once she loses her job. She adored her job at the cafe and tried everything before feeling  She finds a position helping to take care of a wheelchair bound quadriplegic. Will Traynor is surly and rude and can’t believe his big & exciting life has turned very small since he’s mostly bound to his house.  Their tentative working relationship turned friendship pushes each other to feel & think differently.  It’s a book about life and how people can change you & push you to be a better person.  It’s a look into family, friendship & hardship and stepping out of your comfort zone..  And it’s about love– all kinds of love and what happens when you let it in to your life.

I’ve had a copy of this book for little over a year now.  For some reason, I couldn’t bring myself to pick it up despite many times of putting in my bag or taking it on a trip.  But since it’s February, with Valentine’s Day in the middle of the month reminding everyone of love & heartache, etc, I decided to finally start (and finish) this book.  And I’m so unbelievably glad I did.  It’s funny, I always end up reading books that I’ve neglected at the perfect time.  I really needed this story right now.

I would find myself reading a sentence over and over again, simply because it seemed like the perfect sentence or it contained the perfect description.  Moyes truly has top notch writing and I can’t wait to read her other work.

“Spring arrived overnight, as if winter, like some unwanted guest, had abruptly shrugged its way into its coat and vanished, without saying goodbye.”

The story is completely heartbreaking and the characters are completely honest & real.  All the characters had soul.  They were all tangible.  I feel like if I walked into a pub and saw them sitting around the place, I could immediately tell who they were. You don’t always agree with their decisions but that makes them human.  They give you a different point of view to consider. I love that the writing is centered around such a controversial topic.  I love that one of the main character’s is disabled.  I love that Lou isn’t a perfect and I love that she’s someone the former Will Traynor would never have looked twice at. I love the unconventional love story.

“You cut yourself off from all sorts of experiences because you tell yourself you are ‘not that sort of person’”
“But, I’m not.”
“How do you know? You’ve done nothing, been nowhere. How do you have the faintest idea what kind of person you are?”

This book absolutely destroyed me.  I couldn’t put it down.  My co-workers must think I’m so rude because the second I went on my lunch break, I stuck my nose in this book. And it was worth it.   This book, ugh, this book.  I can’t even form proper words.  I love this book to pieces.

Do you know how hard it is to say nothing? When every atom of you strains to do the opposite? I had practiced not saying anything the whole way from the airport, and it was still nearly killing me.

I can’t really even describe this.  It’s one of those books that I’m really happy I didn’t know a whole lot about before I read it because it blew me away.  That being said, I’m not going to say much more about this book because if you haven’t read it already, you should just pick it up and see for yourself.

I’ve been purposely not watching the trailer for the upcoming movie but since I’ve read the book, I can finally allow myself to watch it.  Is it June 3rd yet? (Watch the trailer, here) I’m ready to have a good ugly cry at the movie theater.

Have you read anything by Jojo Moyes? Which of her other books would you recommend? Are you looking forward to the movie as much as I am?

2 thoughts on “Me Before You

  1. I read this book this month as well and I feel the same way. I’ve put off reading the book for about a year, but I’m glad that I’ve picked it up around the right time. I can’t wait until the movie releases!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am dying for the movie. I’ve probably watched the trailer about 10 times by now. I love that it seems like they’re sticking close to the book! I hope that’s really the case and not just a trailer tease.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

