P.S. I Love You

366522Rating: Did Not Finish
Genre: Adult // Romance // Contemporary
Published: January 2005
Favorite Quote:

“Holly’s theory about the army,” Sharon explained.
“And what is it?” Denise asked, intrigued.
“Oh, that fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity.”

Summary taken from Goodreads:
Childhood sweethearts, they could finish each other’s sentences and even when they fought, they laughed. No one could imagine Holly and Gerry without each other.

Until the unthinkable happens. Gerry’s death devastates Holly. But as her 30th birthday looms, Gerry comes back to her. He’s left her a bundle of notes, gently guiding Holly into her new life without him, each note signed ‘PS, I Love You’.

As the notes are gradually opened, and as they year unfolds, Holly is both cheered up and challenged. The man who knows her better than anyone sets out to teach her that life goes on. With some help from her friends, and her noisy and loving family, Holly finds herself laughing, crying, singing, dancing — and being braver than ever before.

I couldn’t do it.  I stopped on page 152.  And this isn’t even the first Cecelia Ahern book I’ve read.  I enjoyed The Book of Tomorrow.  And I still want to read Love, Rosie.

Characters

  • Holly, especially, was annoying and frustrating.  She was just a little too whiny.  I get that she’s in pain and lost the love of her life but it didn’t feel real.
  • Speaking of characters, there were too many of them to keep straight when none of them had strong personalities.  I couldn’t bring myself to care about any of them and that’s a huge downfall to me in books.
  • In this book, all the characters voice’s sounded so stilted.  It was easy to get out of the story because the conversations didn’t sound real.  They fell flat.

This particular story would have been better suited as a short story or novella because the amount of actual plot points was few and far between.  It was just slow going and I couldn’t stand it.  I’m sure it picked up after I put it down but I lost interest.

Bottom line: This book wasn’t for me.  I could see potential in the story but to me, it was executed poorly.

I am still looking forward to see if her writing has improved to me in Love, Rosie— which I hope to read this year at some point.

I think the heart of the story is great and I can’t wait to watch the movie version.  Be sure to check out my Cinema Saturday post this Saturday about it.

Has anyone else read P.S. I Love You or anything else by Cecelia Ahern?  What do you think of her writing?

7 thoughts on “P.S. I Love You

  1. I felt exactly the same way about this book, especially what you said about the supporting characters. I found them to be pretty bland and interchangeable. That being said, I really LOVE the film of P.S. I Love You. It’s very different to the book, and the characters have a lot more personality. It’s one of the very rare cases where I prefer the movie to the book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This book really disappointed me. I thought I was going to love it because I heard great things about the movie. And I’m with you that the books are usually better, so I couldn’t believe what I was reading! I can’t wait to watch the movie! I think it’ll be a lot better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It disappointed me too – I watched the film first, so was expecting it to be just as amazing, but sadly that wasn’t the case 😦 Looking forward to seeing what you thought of the movie!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, I’m sorry you didn’t like this book. I first read this like a decade ago and didn’t really remember what I thought — it did leave a bit of an impression but mostly because “omg she lost the love of her life”. I did watch the movie several weeks ago and it was so, so sad! Hope you enjoy that.

    Like

    1. I think if I had read this when I was in high school, I would have liked it more. I don’t think Cecelia Ahern is a bad writer, but this book just has normal first book problems for me. It would have had more of an impact on me if it was shorter. I’m excited to watch the movie! I have pretty high hopes for it.

      Like

  3. I read this novel years ago, almost 10 years now, and I’ve really wanted to go back and read it because I was a teenager when I read it. That’s too bad that you didn’t care for it, I remember loving it. I wonder if you’ll like the film version because I completely hated it! Maybe because you didn’t like the novel you’ll like the movie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

