Cinema Saturday: Pride & Prejudice & Zombies

prideprejudicesmall1Based on: Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith (and Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen)
Released in theaters: February 5th, 2016
Directed by:  Burr Steers
Screenplay by: Burr Steers
Starring: Lily James, Sam Riley, Bella Heathcote, Douglas Booth, Jack Huston, Lena Headey, Matt Smith, Sally Philips
Film Trailer

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.

Pride and Prejudice and ZombiesWhat I Loved

  • Seriously all of it.  The entire cast was wonderful and it was a great mash up of horror, comedy, adventure, and romance.
  • Lily James was a FANTASTIC Lizzie Bennet. While mentioning stand-out acting, Matt Smith was a lovable Mr. Collins- I didn’t know there could be such a thing! While, Lena Headey, of Game of Thrones fame, was a formidable Lady Catherine de Bourgh.
  • There were many times I laughed out loud or wanted to cheer on Lizzie & her sisters for their epic fighting skills.  It was over the top, sure, but in the best way possible.

prideprejudicezombiestrailer_resizedAdaptation

  • I loved that the women in this film had so much agency and could kick serious ass.
  • It was more lighthearted than I thought it would be and I loved that.
  • Despite the fact it was full of zombies, Pride & Prejudice is still my favorite love story. There’s just something about Lizzie Bennet & Mr. Darcy that makes me all gooey.

Ehh Moments

  • The cinematography was well done, for them most part.  There were times I was annoyed with a filter on the camera that made the edges fuzzy.  But it was short-lived.
  • There were some parts that were a little slow but again, it was short-lived.
  • There was some weird Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse that was briefly mentioned and then forgotten.  That probably should have been just taken out.

Would I Recommend?
Yes, a thousand times yes! It’s just such a fun movie and the actors were all phenomenal. I’m pretty sure I’m going to buy this on Blu-Ray as soon as it’s released. I already want to rewatch it.

Have you read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies? Are you excited for the movie?

2 thoughts on “Cinema Saturday: Pride & Prejudice & Zombies

    1. I read part of the book. I thought it was cool because of its originality but I never finished it. I’m kinda interested in going back and rereading it but I’m also super happy with the movie so maybe not. I absolutely loved the movie & would highly recommend, even if you haven’t read the book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

