Why Not Me?

22716447Rating:  3.5 Stars
Published: September 2015
Genre: Non-fiction // Humor // Memoir
Favorite Quote:

People get scared when you try to do something, especially when it looks like you’re succeeding. People do not get scared when you’re failing. It calms them. But when you’re winning, it makes them feel like they’re losing or, worse yet, that maybe they should’ve tried to do something too, but now it’s too late. And since they didn’t, they want to stop you. You can’t let them.

I love Mindy’s writing.  I really do.  I like that she is completely relatable, outrageously funny, and honest.   But I have to say, I read this after I read Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy and it just didn’t hold up.  I know I can’t compare them but part of me did anyway.  I truly adored Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and was looking forward to her next book.  I just didn’t feel the same about this.  Maybe it was timing.  Maybe it was me.  I’m not entirely sure.

“Soul mates” is what you aim for, but soup snakes is what you get sometimes.

Don’t get me wrong.  There were times I laughed out loud, there were times I wanted to hug Mindy, and of course, there times I wanted to ask if she’s read my mind.

Until I realized: this long expanse of free time to rekindle friendships is not real. We will never come home to each other again and we will never again have each other’s undivided attention. That version of our friendship is over forever. And when I remember this, and it usually happens in those awful, quiet evening hours on Sunday nights, after dinner but before bed, I just lie on my sofa and cry for half an hour.

PREACH, MINDY, PREACH.

I can’t even begin to tell you how hard it was to limit the quotes I chose to use.  She’s incredible quotable.  One thing I can tell you about this book is that there will never be a shortage of nods of agreement, snorts of laughter, and hope that the world could be filled with more people like Mindy.

I will leave you with one last piece of advice, which is: If you’ve got it, flaunt it. And if you don’t got it? Flaunt it. ’Cause what are we even doing here if we’re not flaunting it?

I will be reading more of Mindy, watching more The Mindy Project, and waiting for her next project.  There are parts of this book I’ll probably re-read, no doubt.  I just didn’t have a problem putting this down.

Have you read Mindy’s latest book? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Why Not Me?

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

    1. Thank you so much (for the comment & follow)! Comments like these make so happy! Some days it’s hard to remember why you blog in the first place but then sweet comments like these make it worth it. Don’t worry, I don’t plan on stopping my blog anytime soon– I read too many books to not do anything with all the thoughts I have about them! Thanks again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

