Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1)

21414439Rating:  4 Stars
Published: January 2016
Genre: Fantasy // Young Adult // Magic
Favorite Quote:

“Yes,” Safi breathed, swaying into one of the men holding her up. She flashed a grin at him and said, “I’m Safiya fon Hasstrel, and I can do anything.”

Safi & Iseult are Threadsisters, two girls that will do anything for each other. They live in a world were magic is common and diverse in its form.  Safi, is a Truthwitch– she’s able to tell when someone is lying or telling the truth.  Her magic is powerful and coveted.  Iseult is a Threadwitch — able to see the threads that bind people together.  They live in the Witchlands, but war is coming and they must leave with the help of Merik, a Windwitch and a prince of his own lands.  With a Bloodwich on their tale and the Empire seeking Safi for her power, will they ever be free?

I have to be honest, the first chapter was really confusing to me.  It was hard to differentiate the between Safi and Iseult.  I also had no idea what a Threadsister was and things weren’t explained until I was thoroughly confused.  But don’t fret– it quickly got better and I fell in love with the world and the characters.

Story

  • I thought this was a interesting concept.  I’m pretty invested now and can’t get certain scenes out of my head.  I’m intrigued because the magic was so unique — not necessarily because of what they could do, but because it exists in the same place.
  • The world-building was pretty intense.  There was a lot going on and since the magic was so diverse, it was sometimes hard to keep track of.  Nevertheless, it was fascinating to read about.
  • Some of the backstory was a little lacking.  I’m not sure if everything was explained as it should have been.  I’m willing to overlook that because once I got to a certain point in the book, I didn’t want to put it down.
  • The pace was great.  The action scenes were a delight to read, I was the edge of my seat! The fighting (and dancing) sequencing were beautifully written and choreographed.
  • In the end, this is about friendship- two girls that will do anything for each other. That’s really special.  While there was romance, and violence, and politics, too, Safi & Iseult both were first & foremost in each other’s thoughts.  That’s a powerful friendship and so awesome to see in a fantasy novel.
“I hate this. Both the storm and the plan. Why does it have to be ‘we’? Why not just me?”
“Because ‘just me’ isn’t who we are,” Iseult hollered back. “I’ll always follow you, Safi, and you’ll always follow me. Threadsisters to the end.”

Characters

  • Safi is fierce and brash.  I love her strength.
  • Iseult is in every way, Safi’s balance. They complete one another. It was refreshing to read a book with such a strong female friendship. They were there for each other 100% and nothing stood in the way of that.  Initiate. Complete.
  • Merik: the scenes with him & Safi were so swoon worthy. But besides that, I loved reading about him commanding the ship. He’s a Prince, but he knows hard work & leadership. That’s admirable.  He’s trying to do the best he can for his country and you gotta love a guy for that.
  • Aeduan is dark– and dark characters are interesting (and fun).  You want to hate him, but you also find him compelling. His backstory isn’t complete yet and I can’t wait to find out more about this terrible Bloodwitch.
  • There was a large cast of characters and everyone was fascinating to read about. Even the minor characters were fleshed out.

This is a very original novel and besides the rocky (but action-filled) beginning, I didn’t have any complaints (at least none that won’t be addressed in the next novels, I’m sure).  There weren’t cliches, or over used tropes.  I admire Susan Dennard’s writing.

So, right now there’s going to be a total of 4 in this series.  I don’t know if I can handle that.  Why did I start reading this now instead of later when I’d have a couple more to read at a time? Bad idea, Evie.  It’s going to be a long wait until the end.

Have you picked up Truthwitch yet? Share your thoughts below!

4 thoughts on “Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1)

Leave a Reply

