Blameless (Parasol Protectorate #3)

7719355Rating: 4 Stars
Published:  September 2010
Genre: Urban Fantasy // Steampunk // Paranormal // Romance
Favorite Quote:

Alexia sighed. “It is times like this I wish I could talk to my mother.”
“Good gracious, what good would that do, madam?” Floote was moved to speak by the outrageousness of Alexia’s statement.
“Well, whatever she said, I could simply take the opposite point of view.”

Alexia Maccon has found herself, once again, living back at home with her trying mother & sisters. To top it off, the Queen has released Alexia from her position on The Shadow Council. When danger comes to London, Alexia flees to the only place she can think of: Italy. Of course, the trouble follows her every step of the way.

One should do what one is best at on as large a scale as possible.

Story

  • As much as I love the writing, I was saddened by the lack of romance in this installation.
  • This book suffered slightly from middle book syndrome. While I enjoyed it entirely, there were some things I was missing.  The first book was simply perfect and original.  This, while still highly enjoyable, didn’t really move the plot forward for me.  While many events happened, nothing of importance really occurred.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love this world and these characters.  I am ALWAYS happy to revisit them, but I’m just glad they’re going back to England and the plot will hopefully move more forward instead of backward.
  • I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before I adore Lord Maccon’s slight (or not-so-slight depending on his inebriation or frustration level) Scottish accent.  It’s quite becoming.

I have died and gone to the land of bad novels.

Carriger’s writing is always addicting & griping.  From the moment I first began reading her writing, I never wanted to stop.

I foresee a trip to the bookstore in my immediate future for the last two books in the series.  How unfortunate for my wallet.  *grabby hands*

“Shouldn’t you be worrying about your own problems?”
“What enjoyment is there in that? Other people’s are always far more entertaining.”

Seriously guys, read this series.

Leave a Reply

