And Then There Were None

181133Rating: 4.5 Stars
Published: November 1939
Genre: Mystery // Classic // Thriller
Favorite Quote:

There was something magical about an island—the mere word suggested fantasy. You lost touch with the world—an island was a world of its own. A world, perhaps, from which you might never return.

Ten people are called to Soldier Island under varying pretenses.  Together they realize they have little hope of leaving the island alive.  They unite to try to stay alive from their unknown predator.  But one by one they’re being killed off.  Will anyone survive Soldier Island?

I love the new covers of these books. They’re fantastically adorable & unassuming considering the type of thriller mysteries these books actually are.

This is my first Agatha Christie book.  I had read some pieces of her work in English class in high school, I believe but never the full story.  But I figured it was high time to start reading her work in earnest.  For Christmas, I got this & Murder on the Orient Express.

Did you hear about the BBC miniseries based on this book? It was released in honor of Agatha Christie’s 125th birthday.  From what I understand, it’s due out in the US sometime in 2016 on Lifetime.  I couldn’t find much information on it but people seemed to enjoy it in the UK.

In any case, this was delightful and slightly creepy.  There was a lot of things going on because there was 10 separate characters to keep track of but it was pretty easily managed most of the time.

Story

  • What an awesome original story, first of all.
  • It was interesting reading about what guilt did to people. Without going into too much detail on each individual person, you got a sense of who they were and what they did (eventually).
  • I loved that, despite having many guesses, I never actually could guess who did it.  I had a pretty good idea of how it was accomplished but I just picked the wrong person.

This was an easy read and I would recommend it to any mystery lover.  After all, Agatha Christie is the queen of mysteries, a fact that I had known but not experienced first hand.

There’s not much else to say about this.  I benefited from reading this without knowing much about it.  It’s just something you have to experience first hand without much information.

Have you read any books by Agatha Christie? What are your favorites?

9 thoughts on “And Then There Were None

  1. I’ve never read any Agatha Christie, but I watched the BBC adaptation of And Then There Were None and loved it – it was extremely creepy! I’d really recommend if you get a chance to watch it 🙂 It has definitely inspired me to pick up some Agatha Christie books this year. Have you started Murder on the Orient Express? I’m thinking I might give that one a go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t yet! But I will when I get through the most recent books I bought, haha. I want to see the BBC version so bad. Some day I’ll get around to finding or I’ll just wait for it to air on Lifetime.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this story. I admit, I haven’t read the actual book, I’ve only listened to the BBC radio drama, but it’s a good story. I only recently found out there’s an actual adaptation and I intend to watch it soon… well, as soon as I’ll be done with Doctor Who mania again 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Doctor Who is awesome 🙂
        I used to watch it when I was younger – when they were showing the 9th doctor in TV. About two years ago I’ve started watching the first series. There’s plenty of lost episodes there, but I found the version with recovered audio and some photos – they actually managed to make the complete story out of these and even in this state it’s good to see them.
        Currently I’m watching the 9th Doctor again and I intend to continue till the newest seasons.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I started watching with the 9th Doctor but I found that series hard to get into. I then watched some random really good episodes & do really like the show but the 9th Doctor is a chore for me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

