Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

23848559Rating:  5 Stars
Published: September 2015
Genre: Nonfiction // Humor // Memoir
Favorite Quote:

When we share our struggles we let others know it’s okay to share theirs.  And suddenly we realize that the things we were ashamed of are the same things everyone deals with at one time or another.  We are so much less alone than we think.

Jenny Lawson is the woman behind The Bloggess.  This is a laugh-out-loud funny book about something not-so funny: mental illness.  Lawson opens up about what it’s like to be inside her head in a hilarious manner unique to her.  Let this book shed some light on the tough subject while you sit back and enjoy the ride (and become furiously happy).

Initial Thoughts

  • I saw the happy raccoon at Book Con first.  I had no idea what the book was about but knew it had to be crazy and some kind of wonderful.  Flash forward to Black Friday when I was in Barnes & Noble browsing the signed books.  I saw that raccoon surrounded by shiny and before I knew what I was doing, I picked it up and walked to the check-out.
  • I love the idea of being furiously happy.  I love tat Jenny Lawson decided to share what goes on in her mind with her mental illness. This book is important.

I wish someone had told me this simple but confusing truth: Even when everything’s going your way you can still be sad.  Or anxious.  Or uncomfortably numb.  Because you can’t always control your brain or your emotions even when things are perfect.

End of Book Thoughts

  • Everyone should read this.  Forget the books that try to describe what it’s like to have a mental illness.  Read this instead.  Or read this & that but remember this is more accurate.
  • I was legitimately laughing out loud at points.  This book was such a mix of emotions.
  • When she finally understands caroling is also a great moment. You’ll know it when you see it.

“I can’t think of another type of illness where the sufferer is made to feel guilty and question their self-care when their medications need to be changed.”

This was one of my favorites things to read about because of how ridiculous the conversation is and how incredible TRUE it is.  I’ve had this conversation before with people, too.

Victor:  YOU LOOK GREAT.  STOP BEING MENTAL AND GET IN THE DAMN CAR.
ME:  No. Not until I look okay.
Victor:  I TOLD YOU THAT YOU LOOKED OKAY.
Me:  EXACTLY. But my “okay” is not your “okay.” I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M EVEN HAVING TO EXPLAIN THIS.
Victor:  THAT MAKES TWO OF US.
Me:  Okay, let me put this in perspective.  Imagine we just had sex for the first time.  You ask me how it was.  I say, “It was okay.
Victor: Ah.
Me:  Exactly.
Victor:  Fine. You look amazing.
Me:  Really? So I look okay?

I know my review for this book is a little disjointed. I apologize.  I just can’t say enough good things about this book.  It’s a delight to read but also gives insight. It may not be the right type of humor for you but it was for me and I loved it.  Just go out and read this.  Do it.  Now.

Have you read anything by Jenny Lawson? Do you read her blog? Tell me your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

  1. So glad to hear you liked this! I almost bought a signed copy of it on black friday (but The Outsiders and The Martian won out). I’ve been meaning to read this for a long time. I’ll have to move it up on my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!! You do! It was hilarious and heart warming and completely enlightening. It was relatable if you’ve ever had any kind of mental illness and shed light on parts you may not know about.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

