Let It Snow

 

16081588

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: October 2008
Genre: YA //Contemporary Romance

This is a book of three connected holiday romances set on Christmas Eve in the middle of snowstorm.  What first begins as a disaster ends up being magical and special.  An adventurous and hilarious story will light up your night. So grab some hot chocolate or head to your favorite Waffle House (or not, because they don’t exist everywhere) and nestle in for a heartwarming Christmas romance.

Initial Thoughts

  • Maureen Johnson is one of my favorite YA authors & favorite people to follow on Twitter.
  • I’ll read John Green and I really enjoyed An Abundance of Katherines (while his others were just okay for me- don’t hate me).
  • I haven’t read anything from Lauren Myracle since I was in junior high.  The idea of having three connected stories written by three authors was extremely appealing to me.
  • And I absolutely love holiday stories so this was a must-read for me.
  • I first read this book 2 years ago and loved it then. I hoped my reread of it wouldn’t ruin the idea I had of it.

The Jubilee Express

I may have been a complete lunatic, but I was a complete lunatic with manners.

  • MJ always makes me giggle.  Her writing is my breath of fresh air.  I forget that when I haven’t read anything by her in a while then I pick up one of her stories and take a big gulp.
  • Jubilee is a stand out narrator.  I loved reading her story.  She’s hilarious and quirky and I want more of her!
  • This is my favorite, by far. Which is sad because it’s the first story.  I wish it had ended on this note instead.
  • la la la la la love this so much. That is all.

A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle

Something about me has always liked the drama and inconvenience of bad weather. The worse the better, really.”

  • It’s so John Green.  If you’re a fan of his writing, you’ll love this.  His characters tend to overlap but since the first time I read this it was one of the first books by him that I read, I didn’t mind.  This time I minded a smidge.
  • I like that it’s narrated by a boy because the other two narrators are girls.
  • It was a good follow up to MJ’s story and I definitely liked it.

The Patron Saint of Pigs

All I’m saying is that if you love someone, you should be willing to show it.

  • The weakest out of the three, but by no means terrible, just not great.
  • Addie, the narrator, is just too unrelatable for me. She’s a bit whiny and annoying.
  • The fact that there was a teacup pig made me love the story a little more (and of course made me want to go and get one straightaway but I didn’t).
  • Her story had the added bonus of seeing how all the characters intertwined, however, I wish she kinda didn’t.  I wish hers wasn’t the last story because I liked her characters and style of writing the least.

End Thoughts

  • I adored this book and it will always be one of my favorite holiday reads.
  • I don’t want to say too much about it because it’s one of those books you just need to read and discover by yourself.  There’s too many laugh out loud funny moments to count, it’s bound to bring a ridiculous grin to your face.
  • It’s going to be a movie. WHAT. Stoked. Right now, the current release date is December 9, 2016.  You bet I’ll be seeing that in theaters next year!
  • Of course, this is the PERFECT Christmas Eve read. Snuggle up with this book before bed and wait for Santa to arrive.

 Have you read Let It Snow? What did you think?

Merry Christmas lovelies!! I hope you all have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

