Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

13206900Rating: 5 Stars
Published: November 2015
Genre: Fantasy // Fairy Tale Retelling // Young Adult
Favorite Quote:

“A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.”
Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.”

Winter is despised by her stepmother, Queen Levana, and the feeling is mutual.   Unbeknownst to Levana, Winter has been undermining her wishes for years.  When Levana tries to use Winter’s childhood friend and handsome palace guard, Jacin, against her, Winter becomes determined to win the unspoken game between them.  Winter allies with Cinder, Cress, and Scarlet as they fight for their happily ever afters.

Initial Thoughts

  • I was not-so-patiently waiting for this book to come out. I could not wait to dive right into it.
  • As much as I wanted to read this, I didn’t pick it up the second it arrived at my door.  I was nervous it wouldn’t live up to my expectations and I was worried I wouldn’t love Winter (the character) as much I love Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress.

“…We’re going to overthrow Levana, and by the stars above, we are going to make Cinder a queen so she can pay us a lot of money from her royal coffers and we can all retire very rich and very alive, got it?”
Winter started to clap. “Brilliant speech.  Such gumption and bravado.”
“And yet strangely lacking in any sort of actual strategy,” said Scarlet.
“Oh, good, I’m glad you noticed that too,” said Iko. “I was worried my processor might be glitching.”

Characters

  • Winter was a breath of crazy fresh air.  I loved reading her thought process.  I also really enjoyed the parallel with the Snow White tale.  It was pretty perfect to read about the old woman with the candy apple and the scene surrounding the suspension tank.  I knew she would have to draw similarities to the story but for some reason, I just wasn’t expecting that. Winter was stronger than you’d imagine and very clever.  I loved her thought process sometimes. She was a really interesting character to read about.
  • I got that Jacin would been the Huntsman character.  I wasn’t as crazy about him as I was the other love interests.  I think Carswell Thorne was a bit of an idiot for the majority of the book.  I’m glad he finally smarted up.  I loved his humor, though.   Emperor Kai was a bit of a dud here, too.  There were moments of defiance her showed towards Levana that really let his character shine.  But other than that, I didn’t really care about him.
  • All the women were great.  They are strong and fierce and I love them all to pieces.  Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Iko will always hold a special place in my heart.

Or maybe it was just Winter, who could make a rock fall in love with her if she smiled at it the right way.

Story

  • I think the story dragged on quite a bit.  There were many times I kept thinking everything would just be over but then there was a sudden twist. Meyer can weave a story like no other and I love reading her beautiful words.  But it felt like she didn’t want it to end either.   I think some parts could have been cut but naturally, I’m glad there was so much read.  I don’t want to leave these brilliant characters Meyer made come to life.
  • I love the natural way Meyer can lightened up a situation with her witty writing.  Iko was always a joy to read about and she felt so tangible.  It made me want an Iko of my own!
  • Reading about Artemisia was very similar to reading about The Capitol in The Hunger Games. Even the way the people at court act towards Levana’s antics is similar to the people of the Capitol watching the hunger games.  I don’t know if I would have caught on to this similarity if I didn’t just see Mockingjay Part 2.

Winter snorted and grabbed the tray away from Kai.  “Let’s not be cruel.  One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now.”

End Thoughts

  • Oh my stars, this book was FUNNY.  I was surprised at how much I kept smiling. 
  • I kept having doomsday predictions for this book. Meyer does a good job of keeping the reader on their toes.
  • I thought this book was perfect.  Maybe a little TOO perfect.  But nonetheless, I loved it.  Everything wrapped up a little too easily for instance, (highlight to reveal spoiler): Winter should have died when she was poisoned and all the couples shouldn’t have had their happily ever after.  But like I said, I’m glad it turned out the way it did.  I would have been devastated if it didn’t.  Nevertheless, I loved every minute of reading it.

Have you finished the series yet? Are you excited for the short stories coming out on February 2, 2016 called Stars Above? I cannot wait to get my hands on it.  

Happy Winter Solstice everyone!

2 thoughts on “Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Leave a Reply

