Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

7741325Rating: 4 Stars
Genre: Young Adult
Published: October 2010
Favorite Quote:

I mean, what if love isn’t a yes-or-no question? It’s not either you’re in love or you’re not. I mean, aren’t there different levels? And maybe these things, like words and expectations and whatever, don’t go on top of the love. Maybe it’s like a map, and they all have their own place, and then when you see it from the sky – whoa.

I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions? (Summary taken from Goodreads)

Initial Thoughts

  • I know I’m not part of the popular opinion here but I can’t help it.  I remember loving Gingerbread in high school.  I adored Nick & Nora’s Infinite Playlist and I constantly look for more of David’s stuff in my local thrift stores.
  • I love when Rachel Cohn & David Levithan collaborate. I look forward to their books and I hope there’s more.

Characters

  • Dash is unreal.  He doesn’t read like a teenage boy.  He’s a tad annoying in his narration but I overlooked it because I wanted to just get lost in this story.  Everyone knows that Christmas has become about consumerism.  Everyone knows Christmas trees are pagan and that the Winter Solstice was celebrated before Christmas was. Blahblahblah. I don’t want Dash shoving his grinchness & hipsterdom down my throat.
  • Lily on the other hand, is adorable.  I love that she came up with the bookish scavenger hunt. She’s funny and very relatable. I also loved her family.  Too freaking cute.

You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtships. They want to know immediately.

End Thoughts

  • Pretentiousness aside, this book made me want to get a Moleskin. It made me want to leave clues in a cute little book store.  It made me want to fall in love.  I read this book when I was homesick and it made me feel better.
  • I loved the setting, too.  Christmas in NYC is the best.
  • I thought this was a delightful Christmas book but I recognize that this will either be a book you love or hate.  There really will be no in-between.

Not sure how true this is but it looks like there will be a second book title The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily with an expected publication sometime in 2016.

What did you think? Did you hate it? Because I can totally see how that’s possible.  Or are you like me and enjoyed it despite its flaws? Let’s talk.

Leave a Reply

