Cinema Saturday: Mockingjay Part 2

mockingjaypostersmall_0Details

Based on: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Released: November 20, 2015
Directed by: Francis Lawrence
Screenplay Written by: Peter Craig and Danny Strong
Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Elizabeth Banks, Woody Harrelson, Donald Sutherland, and Julianne Moore

Film Trailer

Our lives were never ours.  They belong to Snow and our deaths do, too.  But if you kill him, Katniss, if you end all of this, all those deaths they mean something.

What I liked

  • Seriously, all of it.  Every. Single. Moment. (Even those that made me cry)
  • This was very much Katniss’ journey and I was happy to see that come to life in this film.  You can see how she struggles with the deaths of those she cares about and coming to terms with President Snow.
  • The FEEEEEELS.
  • Jennifer Lawrence sings another song for this part but it’s far less of a big deal since it’s played right before/ during the credits.  I almost didn’t realize it was her at first, but of course it had to be.

Prim-and-Katniss-Dance-Mockingjay-Part-2-Trailer-1433897148Adaptation

  • I have a friend from college that writes movie reviews as his job (I wish I had that job but I digress).  I read his review on Mockingjay and I couldn’t stop shaking my head and yelling at the article.  That’s not to say he’s a bad reviewer, because he’s pretty good but I think you have to judge this film in particular with different standards.  First of all, it’s the last in a series and a part 2 of the last book and that’s important to note.  It’s a part of a whole and should be judged as such.  There’s a seamless transition between the first and second part.
  • I know there are differences from the books to the movies but honestly, they’re hardly noticeable, especially in this last installment.  When adapting a book to a movie, there will inevitably be some changes.  They cut characters with minor parts, they add more scenes for a familiar character, they cut scenes for time, and they consolidate events.  But it makes for a better, stronger film (usually but definitely for this).
  • For those that are interested in a breakdown of some of the differences, you can check out this article.
  • Since Mockingjay Part 1 & 2 were filmed at the same time, Philip Seymour Hoffman had one scene left before he died.  I had heard they had thought of many different ways to make the scene work but was curious as to what scene it was & how they would do it.  And while it wasn’t perfect, because it would have been better with him, the method they ended up using was good. (You’ll know what I’m talking about when you see it)HT_jennifer_lawrence_hunger_games_jt_150609_16x9_992

Would I recommend?
YES. A thousand time yes. I think this is the best YA adaptation that has been made in recent years. I cannot wait to marathon these films together as a whole.   This movie gave me so many feels.  Between what happens with the characters, seeing Philip Seymour Hoffman on his last film, Finnick, happy feels, sad feels, just ALL the damn feels.

What did you think of the last part? Do you think it did the book justice?

Happy Saturday, y’all!

Leave a Reply

