The Rose Garden

10836066Rating: 5 Stars
Published: October 2011
Genre: Historical Fiction
Favorite Quote:

Whatever time we have,” he said, “it will be time enough.

Eva Ward returns to the only place she truly belongs, the old house on the Cornish coast, seeking happiness in memories of childhood summers. There she finds mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time.
But Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. As she begins to question her place in the present, she comes to realize that she too must decide where she really belongs. (Summary taken from Goodreads)

Initial Thoughts

  • I’m always excited to pick up another Susanna Kearsley book.  Her books are like a breath of fresh air.   These are my reviews for the other books of her I’ve read: A Desperate Fortune, The Winter Sea,  and Season of Storms.
  • Say what you will about Susanna’s books but I unabashedly love them. They’re my CoHo (without the graphic sex). When I read a review that points out problems, yes, I can understand them.  However, I see none. I have fallen in love with every story I have read by her. I am unapologetic about it and if we disagree, we disagree.
  • Books have the power to transport, hers even more so. These books make me want to curl up with hot chocolate and a warm blanket and read I’ve read every last word.

Characters

  • Eva. Oh Eva.  When I step away from this book, I can’t get the story out of my head. I want to BE Eva. Though, I think I would have had a stronger reaction to the differences in time periods. But maybe she’s just more adapting, she has lived in 3 different countries. Now that it’s the same thing, but still.
  • Claire is one of my favorite characters, she has this quality to her that.  As is Fergal.  Danny is pretty great but I wish I knew more about him.
  • Honestly, I read loved reading about all the secondary characters.

End Thoughts

  • Everything I read by her, I love.  There’s a magical quality to her books that you don’t see often.
  • I want to continue reading any/all of her books. Gimme. Gimme. Gimme.

The next book on my list by her is Mariana. Look out for a review coming soon.

Do you love historical fiction like I do? Have you read Susanna Kearsley?  Because if you haven’t, you should.  What other historical fiction authors do you read?

Leave a Reply

