First & Then

23310751Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published:  October 2015
Genre: YA // Contemporary
Favorite Quote:


Nothing good ever started with listen.  It was never “Listen, you just won twenty-five thousand dollars.” “Listen, I have a huge crush on you.” I think the general theory was that you had to tell the other person to listen because you were about to tell them something they didn’t want to hear.

Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.
Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights in this contemporary novel about falling in love with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself. (Summary taken from Goodreads)

Initial Thoughts

  • First of all, the cover of this book is absolutely stunning.  Not only is the dust jacket covered in rain drops, but the cover is, too.
  • This book was in my October UpperCase Box and I was so excited to receive it.  I probably wouldn’t have picked it up on my own (at least not for a while or until it came out in paperback).

Characters

  • I loved Ezra and thought he was the perfect re-imagining of Mr. Darcy.
  • I loved Devon‘s changing relationship with her cousin Foster.  I also loved that she was a Jane Austen fan.  Devon was funny and there were many times I laughed out loud.  Her prejudices were perfect for the story and I enjoyed reading her thought process as her feelings changed.
  • Foster was perfectly awkward and enjoyable to read about it.

End Thoughts

  • I stayed up late to finish this book the other night.  It’s a quick read and while it’s not perfect, it’s a fun contemporary.  I honestly thought it was absolutely adorable and I couldn’t put it down.
  • I loved the narration and I really enjoyed the writing.
  • I love the similarites to Pride & Prejudice.  It’s a fun updated retelling.
  • The book doesn’t linger in my mind but I was sucked into the story while reading it. A lot of issues were left unresolved which is why it didn’t get more stars.  I wish the plot was a little bit more well-written but it didn’t distract too much from the cuteness of the story.

Have you read First & Then? What do you think about it?

2 thoughts on “First & Then

Leave a Reply

