Maybe Someday

17788403

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: March 2014
Genre: New Adult // Romance
Favorite Quote:

I need someone who is willing to watch me brave the ocean and then dare me not to drown.

Sydney’s heartbroken.  She just found out her boyfriend, Hunter, and her best friend, Tori, have been sleeping together.  When the cute guitar player, Ridge, from across the courtyard offers her a place to stay while she picks up the pieces of her life, Sydney finds it hard to say no to him. Little does she know that accepting his offer means finding a new way to think about the world around her.

This is my third CoHo book. I’ve read Ugly Love and Confess, neither of which have reviews because I couldn’t figure out how to word them.  Basically, I enjoyed them enough but wasn’t in love with them.

Initial Thoughts

  • I love the idea of an original playlist for the book. After all the buzz I heard about CoHo books, I never heard anything about that. I think it’s pretty awesome.
  • The first page. Sydney, the main character, calls her best friend a whore because x is sleeping with Sydney’s boyfriend. First of all, it takes two to cheat. Stop solely blaming the woman. It’s not JUST her fault. Slut shaming is bad.  #feminism.

2am Thoughts

  • I’m terrible.  I started reading this at 10:30pm thinking I’d read a few chapters and go to bed like a good girl who has to be up early for work in the morning.  Over 100 pages later, it’s nearly 2am and I don’t want to put the damn book down.
  • Why is that, though?  Is it just because CoHo’s writing style is easy to read and slightly intoxicating? That must be it because I can tell you it’s not because I like every part of the book. There’s definitely some parts I take issue with, I’m just having trouble verbalizing what they are at the moments because holy wow this book. *looks at clock* *realizes I have to be awake in 5 hours and my heart sinks even more than it has while reading*

My entire body is battling itself. My left brain is telling me this is somehow wrong, my right brain is wanting to hear her sing again, my stomach is nowhere to be found, and my heart is punching itself in the face with one arm and hugging itself with the other.

Characters

  • Sydney was a pretty typical NA female character, unfortunately.  She was a little too weepy for my taste.  And she wanted nothing more than to not become a “Tori”, but come on, she doesn’t try THAT hard.  Speaking of Tori, it’s not really convincing that they were best friends.  If they were, Tori probably would have mentioned that she had slept with Hunter before him and Sydney started dating.  There also would have been some feeling of broken friendship when she moved out but instead, Sydney’s thoughts were mostly focused on Hunter.  The thought of forgiveness doesn’t cross her mind, not only that, Tori herself doesn’t really even cross Sydney’s mind in the following months.
  • Ridge.  Oh Ridge.  What a sweet deaf boy you are.  And he’s not perfect, which is nice.  But also, Maggie exists.  And that’s shitty because Sydney clearly deserves more.  And so does Maggie, actually.  I’m so conflicted about him.  He’s not an outward jackass like a lot of NA men but he’s no prince, either.  He’s not the normal NA guy and for that, I am thankful.
  • Supporting character special mention: Warren.  I think he was a good edition to all the drama. He was a light & fluffy characters and I loved him for it.

End of Book Thoughts

  • While I enjoyed the inclusion of the music by Griffin Peterson, I don’t like keeping electronics near me when reading so actually listening to the songs when I needed to was a little complicated / annoying. (Check the site out here.) [Favorite songs: A Little Bit More, Maybe Someday, and Let It Begin]
  • There’s SO MUCH CRYING. I get that Sydney is in an emotional situation.  I get it.  Trust me.  I’m a crier, too. However, I think that was a little over the top.  She cries just a little too much for it to be believable.
  • I love that CoHo incorporated a deaf character into this story.  It made it more interesting and it made the story more human.  Yay! It also showcased the diverse ways of communicating with someone who is hearing disabled.  Big plus there.
  • I really like Colleen Hoover’s writing style which is why I keep picking up her books.  They always leave me a little disappointed, though.   I am a firm believer in reading for entertainment and that’s what her books are for me.  However, there’s something to be said about the prevalence of slut shaming in books.  The more it appears, the more it stays ingrained in our society as a norm.  And that’s not right.  I can see it and recognize it for what it is but not everyone can.

All in all,  I immensely enjoyed reading this and I thought the story was original.  That being said, I think there is something inherently wrong with this genre.   These books are typically compulsively readable but have fundamental issues that I just can’t ignore.

Colleen Hoover’s newest novel, November 9, was released in early November.  I’ll have a review coming soon.

Are you a CoHo fan? What’s your favorite? Do you any other NA? Let me know in the comments below.  I’d love any NA recommendations!

 

3 thoughts on “Maybe Someday

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! Her books are so captivating.

      For some reason, I don’t typically cry while reading books. It’s only happened once in a blue moon but put on some sappy emotional movie and I’m bawling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

