The Beast Within: A Tale of Beauty’s Prince

17428643

Rating: 1 Star
Published: July 2014
Genre: Fairy Tale Retelling // Fantasy

Summary taken from Goodreads:
A cursed prince sits alone in a secluded castle. Few have seen him, but those who claim they have say his hair is wild and nails are sharp–like a beast’s! But how did this prince, once jovial and beloved by the people, come to be a reclusive and bitter monster? And is it possible that he can ever find true love and break the curse that has been placed upon him?

Beauty & the Beast is my favorite fairy tale. I love most versions of this story that I read.  The Disney version is classic to my childhood and how I first fell in love with the tale.  I really wanted to like this version, too.  But it wasn’t for me.

I did think it was interesting to see how the Prince was before the curse.  I liked having the witches as characters to see their more complex reasoning into creating said curse.  I thought the story was a good concept, but it had poor execution.  I had to just about force myself to finish this book.

The writing has far too many exclamation marks. I never noticed how that makes for bad writing until there was an over abundance of them.  There are also too many random big words that are unnecessary for the story.  Some examples: bacchanalian, braggart, and befogged.  It’s too showy.

There was really no use for three, actually four, witches in the story.  Two would have done. Or just one, really.  I get trying to be different from the Disney story but it felt unnecessary.

So, because of the curse, Gaston doesn’t remember being best friends with the Prince? And vice versa? Or the village to forget there was a prince in that castle? Where they went to balls? That makes no sense since the curse was about the Prince turning into a Beast? I don’t get it.

Ursula? Really? And the mention of Hades? Come on. Not all Disney stories are related.  They really don’t have all be in the same world.

Basically, skip this retelling if you’re a mature reader.  It will drive you crazy.  I just couldn’t stand it.  And I really wanted to like it, I did.  I read Fairest of All by Serena Valentino and thought that was half-way decent. But this failed for me.  Let me reiterate, this is only my opinion.  I’m sure this is a good book for some people.

2 thoughts on “The Beast Within: A Tale of Beauty’s Prince

  1. I liked this book, but it wasn’t what I was hoping for. I felt like it focused on the witches more than Beast, and I wish the author didn’t write it like that. The author mentioned Ursula because (I an guessing) the author is releasing a chapter book about her next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

