Don’t Look Back

18296030Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: April 2014
Genre: YA // Contemporary // Mystery-Thriller

“I was stuck in this life I didn’t remember, squeezed into the shell of this girl- this Samantha Jo Franco – and the more I learned about her, the more I was starting to hate her.”

Sam doesn’t remember who she is or what happened to her best friend, Cassie.  The both disappeared but Cassie never came back.  Samantha has to find herself again, and her memories to piece together the night they went missing.  She was given a second chance to make different choices.  Her friends Her memories start coming back in bits and pieces but will it be soon enough?

I’ve been waiting to read this since it came out. I was skeptical at first, though, which is why it took me over a year to read it. I have to say, I think I read it at the perfect time. October is the perfect month to read thrillers.

There’s a reason Armentrout’s books are so popular.  They’re extremely readable and compelling.  They’re my guilty pleasure of books.  Her writing is addicting because it so easily draws you in.  Her books aren’t perfect.  But when I’m in a reading slump, I know I’ll get drawn right into her writing.

I don’t want to talk to much about what happened in the book because I had no clue what it was about when I picked it up and I really enjoyed that.  I do have to say, though, that I loved Sam & Scott.  I think they’re get siblings.  I wish there was more information about Carrie, Sam’s best friend, but since Sam couldn’t remember their friendship, I get why there wasn’t more information.  Carson made a good love interest.  I liked the story line involving him.  I like that they grew up together but only her brother stayed friends with him.

Sam’s parents were the epitome of spoiled rich people.  The people in the town that we well off were very bitchy.   It’s stereotypical and slightly condescending.  It would have been nice to have them seem more real.

The one thing I really didn’t like about it was it was partially another story about a queen bitch who turns good.  Yes, Sam has amnesia and she doesn’t like who people say she is but there was a reason for how she acted before.  Even when she gets her memories back, she doesn’t turn back into that person.  It doesn’t make sense to me, it’s like she lost herself completely.  Don’t get me wrong, I like her better how she is now but it makes how she acted “before” unbelievable.

I never saw the ending coming.  I loved that I couldn’t figure it out.  This book was exactly what I needed.  It wasn’t perfect but I couldn’t put it down.  Sometimes, that’s just what you need.

What’s your favorite Jennifer L. Armentrout book? Have you read this one?

2 thoughts on “Don’t Look Back

  1. This was my first read of the year and I totally agree with your views about it!! Can you recommend other books by her?

    PS. Sorry for the previous posts. My phone freaked out on me while I was typing this out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, no worries. I enjoyed her Lux series, well, what I read of it anyway. And I started her Wait for You series, too. A lot of her other books are on my TBR list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

