Cinema Saturday: The Martian

MV5BMTc2MTQ3MDA1Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODA3OTI4NjE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_Details

Based On: The Martian by Andy Weir
Released in Theaters: October 2, 2015
Directed by: Ridley Scott
Screenplay written by: Drew Goddard
Starring: Matt Damon, Jessica Chastain, Jeff Daniels, Kristen Wiig, Sean Bean, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Pena, Kate Mara, Sebastian Stan, (and others)
Rated PG-13

Film Trailer:

 

They say once you grow crops somewhere, you have officially colonized it.  So, technically, I colonized Mars.  In your face, Neil Armstrong!

I have a confession to make.  I didn’t finish the book.  I started it.  I enjoyed what I read so far, but I lost interest.  Mark Watney makes a GREAT narrator.  I laughed.  I skimmed over the science.  But I thought it was very well written.  The movie, however, does make me want to go back and finish the book (so you can hate me a little less).  For for information about the science behind the book/movie, read this article.

ng8zspcv4wubkb28zeyy

Differences (Spoilers abound, so be warned)

  • The book opens on the line, “I’m pretty much fucked.”  While the movie starts by showing the entire crew on Mars on Sol 18. 
  • There are a few plot points of things that happen to Mark on Mars that just don’t in the movie. Also, a lot of the details/ science are glossed over in the film, which I appreciated.  It made it more enjoyable to watch.
  • In the movie, the Pathfinder never gets damaged.
  • The relationship between Beck & Johanssen is changed (in the book, they have more of one).
  • The ending, which isn’t a huge deal. But it shows the lives of the crew after Mars.
  • To jog your memory about more differences, or if you just haven’t read the book, you can read about them here.

What I loved

  • The cast was phenomenal.  There couldn’t be a better group of people together for such a major film.
  • The format for this book was perfect for a movie.
  • The screenplay was very well adapted from the book.  They took direct lines from the book and that made me very happy because the writing was great.
  • Matt Damon was the perfect Mark Watney.

Ehhh moments
I have to say, there really weren’t any for me.

d7e065d0-4516-0133-0a60-0e76e5725d9d

Would I recommend this movie?
Yes! Especially if you love sci-fi films.  However, even if you’re not entirely a fan, this is witty and kinda like the Cast Away in space.  There are many moments to laugh out loud and more moments that get your heart racing with anxiety.  If you liked Gravity and Interstellar, this is a must-watch for you.  I’d watch this again.

Leave a Reply

