Vengeance Road

23719270Rating: 5 Stars
Published: September 2015
Genre: YA // Western // Historical Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“I can fire a rifle as good as any man.  ‘Parently I can kill another just as dead too.  I don’t see why I should act like I can’t just ‘cus it ruffles everyone else’s feathers.”

Kate Thompson is out for revenge.  She came home one day and found her dad strung up on a tree and her house burning.  Kate knew it was the Rose Riders and all she has to do now is hunt them down and make them pay.  But she can’t travel in the wild wild west as a girl alone so she disguises herself as a boy.  Along the way, she meets the Colton brothers, Will and Jesse.  The three embark together but their journey may prove to be more dangerous then they first thought, especially since there’s gold involved.

“Now you listen, and you listen good,” I says.  “I’m going to Goldwaters, and I’m gonna get what you ain’t giving up.  Then I’m gonna ride after yer friends and do to them exactly what’s in store for you– what’s in store for every yellow-bellied coward who goes round stringing up innocent men.”
“That sounds real nice, boy,” he says. “Now for the love of God, lower that damn pistol.”
“All right,” I says.
And I do.
Right after I shoot him through the skull.

Kate is a spitfire.  She is strong and just the heroine I was looking for.  I love that she’s unapologetic.  I love that she thinks she can it on her own but accepts help anyway.  I love how determined she is.  I loved the dialect used.  It wasn’t overbearing and it was very easy to read.

“See you in hell, mister.”
And that’s where I’m going, sure as the sun will rise, ‘cus I feel nothing.  No remorse.  No guilt.  Not even a silver of doubt.  He deserved it, and I’d do it again.  I’d do it over and over, and I wonder if something’s wrong with me.”

Besides Kate, I loved everyone else.  There were some cliches, yes, but easily overlooked.  I liked Jesse, a lot.  I liked his vulnerability.  The writing was my favorite part of the book, it was easy to get wrapped up in the story.  I had never read a Western before and the closet I’ve come to watching Westerns is Firefly (which I love, but it’s not a true Western, but more of space cowboys). This also reminded me a bit of Revenge because it’s about a girl avenging her father.  Though, Kate is less diabolical than Emily Thorne.

There were so many times I wanted to highlight passages in this book.  I loved the writing and didn’t want the book to end.   If it wasn’t for the book blogging community, I don’t think I would have ever picked this up.  And that’s sad.  So, thank you to all those blogs that spread the hype about this book.  I owe you one.

“The frontier ain’t for the faint of heart, and it certainly ain’t kind to women.  Sometimes I think the whole world’s ‘gainst us.”

If you couldn’t already tell, there’s violence.  Quite a few people end up dead by the end of this book.  But don’t get me wrong, it’s not like you’re reading Darkly Dreaming Dexter, but you’re not reading the normal fluffy romance YA, either.

“But that’s physical, and physical is easy.  It’s just focus and confidence.  The emotional stuff, Pa warned, gets under yer skin and poisons yer mind.”

For some reason, I think of this book when I hear this song.  They have similar voices in my heads, I think. Weirdly enough.  I know it makes no sense, but I figured I’d share with you my strange connection.

This is one of my favorites of 2015.  Everyone should read it if you like action, adventure, revenge stories, and of course, some romance.

Basically, go pick up this book.  Right now.  You’ll thank me later. 

4 thoughts on “Vengeance Road

Leave a Reply

