Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy #1)

20613491Rating: 3 Stars
Published: September 2014
Genre: YA // Paranormal // Fantasy // Sci-fi

“There comes a day when every girl loses the stars in her eyes. And then she can see clearly.”

Lily Proctor is allergic to almost everything in her world.  She takes the safe road but when the opportunity comes up to go to her first high school party, she’s excited to see what’s she’s been missing out on.  Her best friend and crush, Tristian, will be there to protect her.  Or so she thinks.  When Lily experiences ultimate humiliation, she just wants to get away from everyone.
Before she knows it, Lily is transported to a different Salem. This Salem is overrun with mutated creatures and ruled by witches.  The Lady of Salem, happens to be a woman named Lillian, Lily’s parallel universe self.
Lily learns how to be strong in this strange new world while dealing with a brewing war.

I picked this up from Book Outlet because it was really cheap and I was intrigued. Ultimately, I’m glad I did even though it wasn’t on par with my favorite YA books.

So, it’s a little cheesy.  It’s a little over done with the YA tropes.  But it’s a lot of fun.  It took me a little while to get into the book and the writing style.  Then I started to really get into it.  I love stories that deal with parallel universes. I think the concept of the story was really different.  It’s new and exciting territory (for now). Combining witches and parallel universes was a fantastic idea.  The world building is great.  I really enjoyed the setting of this new Salem.

There are doubles of almost every character, which may sound confusing, but it’s really not.  Except there’s no Rowan in Lily’s world and I don’t understand why yet.  I’m really interested to find out why certain people can hear other parallel worlds and others can’t, like Lily’s mom.

For the most part, I liked the characters a lot.  Though, Lily’s Tristan is horrible. The guys in Lillian’s world are fantastic.  Tristan,  Juliet, Rowan, and everyone really add to the story instead of just being bystanders.  Rowan is my favorite.  I love the way he acts with Lily.  Though, I have to say, it’s a little weird that Rowan is falling for a girl that’s almost exactly like Lillian.  I mean, yes, they’re different people. But they have so many similar traits and looks that it’s a tiny bit weird.

I like the person Lily becomes.  She’s strong. She wants to learn how to be different from Lillian and be better for that world.  But she doesn’t forget about her family back home.

I love the magic they have.  I think the idea of claiming someone to help with the distribution of power is intriguing.  I like the stones as little hearts on a person.  I am generally in love with all bits of magic part of the world.

I’m interested to see where the story line with Lillian is going and why she wanted to bring Lily there in the first place.  That’s one of the reasons that I’m stoked to read the second book.

Now, I did have a couple of problems with the book.    Lily is really naive.  Her circle of friends is limited to her sister, Juliet, her mom, and her best friend, Tristan.   She doesn’t know a whole lot of anything about life.  That shows when Tristan betrays her.  She thinks this:
“She was an American.  In her mind, everyone was supposed to be equal.”  That’s an extremely privileged thing to say.   First of all, there are different social classes in the States.  Don’t tell me she’s never noticed the really rich people, or really poor people that make up our class structures.  Also, equality.  Women are not equal to men,  that’s why feminism is a thing.  LGBT, people of color; any minority group are not equal.  Unless Lily Proctor is not living in OUR world but a parallel world to ours that’s almost the same just with total equality.  That’s a possibility.

Despite some flaws, I think this was a good sci-fi/paranormal/fantasy book. The cliffhanger was a bit torturous.  I can’t wait to pick up The Firewalker.  I love reading about witches in the Fall.  It’s the most perfect time of year.

Have you read Trial by Fire? Or anything else by Josephine Angelini? What are your thoughts on this book/series?

 

2 thoughts on “Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy #1)

Leave a Reply

