Second Street Station (A Mary Handley Mystery #1)

23209948

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: June 2015
Genre: Historical Fiction // Mystery-Thriller

I don’t normally read mystery books but since this had a woman as a main character and was historical fiction, I decided to give it a try.  I especially enjoyed that it was set in the 1880s NYC, which is a time/place I haven’t read much about.

Mary is smart, clever, and different from other women of her time. Ever since she was a witness to a crime when she was 12, Mary has wanted to be a detective. After getting fired from her job,  she shows her intellect and gets hired to solve a murder during a time when women were working in sweat shops and fighting for their rights.  I love reading about strong women, especially strong women going against gender norms. 

Thomas Edison, J.P. Morgan, and Nikola Tesla, among others, make appearances which was really cool to read about.  It’s always fun creating a character out of household names.

This book isn’t perfect.  I read a lot of historical fiction and will always have my favorite authors in that genre, however, this is a decent addition to my collection.

I wouldn’t have picked up this book on my own, mostly because I hadn’t heard anything about it.  However, now that I’ve been introduced to Mary and her world, I’ll be on the look out for more from Lawrence H. Levy.  This was his debut novel and I’m sure there’s more good books to come.

The next book will be released in January 2016 titled Brooklyn on Fire

Disclaimer:  I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.  My opinions are my own. Thanks for my copy!

Leave a Reply

