Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

18006496

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: September 2015
Genre: YA // Fantasy
Favorite Quote:

“Let’s go rattle the stars.”

Celaena Sardothien is no more.  It’s just Aelin Galanthynius now and long may she reign.  And she is ready to fight.  Aelin’s returned to Rifthold.  Her first objective is to free Aedion from his impending execution at Dorian’s birthday party.  Dorian has been sharing his body with a Vlag Prince and has nearly lost his soul.  Chaol is stubborn, as always, and still places all of his hopes with his friend, his future King, Dorian.

I read this the day it came out.  It’s just taken me a long time to gather my thoughts, which are still stumbled so this probably isn’t going to be the most coherent review.  Oh, and SPOILERS.   If you haven’t read any of this series and you’re planning to, stop right here.  If you haven’t read QoS yet, just do yourself a favor and stop reading right now and go pick it up.

This book is beautiful.  It’s perfect. I’m so happy with this book. I think I’d still be happy (even with many things unresolved) if there were no more books. I thought Queen of Shadows was a pleasure to read and I almost want to jump back into it and read it again.

I know a lot of people think that Sarah J. Maas wasn’t true to her characters.  But she’s the author, she must have a plan or at least an inkling as to how she wants the next books to go.  There has to be a reason she wrote this book the way she did.  I happened to love it, but I know a lot of people didn’t.  We’re just going to have to agree to disagree.

You do not get to pick and choose which parts of her to love.”

I didn’t think I could change teams. I really wasn’t expecting to do so. Gods above, I just can’t help it. I really can’t. But… I’m Team Rowan. There I said. It’s out in the open now.  I do miss Celaena + Chaol and who they were together but that’s not her anymore. Celaena not only accepted that Aelin was her true self but in accepting that, she truly became a Queen.  And with that, Chaol didn’t fit anymore.  Rowan understands her.  He’s a warrior, too.

Page 233.  I’m just leaving that there.

“And what message does it send? That I’m a whore? As if what I do in the privacy of my own room, with my body, is anyone’s concern.” YOU GO GIRL.TELL ‘EM. Aelin is smart, cunning, and one of a kind.  She’s not afraid to stand up for what she believes in or for her friends.  I miss Celaena, in a weird way.  But that’s never who she really was.  Aelin is fierce and strong and out for revenge.  And there’s nothing better than reading about Aelin kicking ass.  I wish Aelin had clued her friends in on what she was planning.  It makes for a big reveal at the end, yes, but it also proved how much she didn’t trust anyone.  Also, a heroine needs help every once in a while.  Aelin is cunning, yes, but it’s okay that she should ask for help.

“Rowan shook his head. “I don’t know whether to throttle you or clap you on the back.” I love the dialogue.  I love the banter.  It’s the underlying heart of the story, their relationships & everything wonderful about this story.   They would be insanely different characters if not for their wit.

I love the bond that Aedion and Aelin have.  They’re cousins, so they’re close but they still have a lot to learn about one another.  They’re both wickedly stubborn and they have the same demeanor.  It’s really fun seeing them interact.  I absolutely loved the scene where she saved him from certain death.

Mannon has truly grown on me.  I love her relationship with Abraxos even more now.  I love how complicated everything in her world has gotten. Things aren’t only black & white anymore for now and I love seeing her make her own judgements and decisions for what SHE thinks is right.

I loved how everything played out.  I loved all the characters, even the ones I desperately love to hate.  There was so much going on, I just couldn’t stop reading. Though, I don’t think it would have been the same reading experience if I took more than the two days I did to read it.   Anyway, there was much love, my heart was pounding during some scenes, and I absolutely just adored this book.  There’s not much else I can say than that.

I’m just going to sit here, not-so-patiently waiting for the next installment in this series and ACOTAR.  Seriously though, is it 2016 yet?

Did you love it, too? Are you excited for the next one? What do you think should have been different?

P.S. Does anyone else picture Toothless as Abraxos (except with two legs), or is it just me?

latestP.P.S. I CAN’T BELIEVE I ALMOST FORGOT TO MENTION THAT IT WAS ANNOUNCED THAT THRONE OF GLASS WAS OPTIONED FOR TV BY THE MARK GORDON COMPANY.  HOW FREAKING EXCITING IS THAT? It just better not let me down.

Leave a Reply

