Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

11235712 

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: January 2012
Genre: YA // Fantasy // Retellings // Sci-fi
Favorite quote:

“But if there was one thing she knew from years as a mechanic, it was that some stains never came out.”

Cinder lives in New Bejiing. She’s a cyborg but don’t tell Prince Kai that. He just thinks she a mechanic. But when her sister gets sick with a deadly disease, Cinder is forced to volunteer to help find a cure. When undergoing testing, Cinder finds out she just may be more special than she thought. Meanwhile, Prince Kai is trying to keep the peace in his Kingdom when Queen Levana who rules the Lunar kingdom desires his hand in marriage.

It took me forever to pick up this series, I know. But now that I have, I’m hooked.  I loved everything about it. The characters are all great.  I love this retelling of Cinderella.  It’s new, it’s fresh, and it’s everything I had hoped it would be.  It’s pretty sci-fi light so if aren’t a fan of sci-fi you should still try this series.  It could be your gateway book.

I loved the writing.  Marissa Meyer is a strong writer with great imagery.  I love her world building.  The Commonwealth and Luna felt real and tangible.  It’s not a place I’d want to live, but a place I would definitely want to visit for a day or two.

Cinder is a fantastic character.  She’s different.  She’s strong.  She’s just what you want in a main character.  Seriously.  She’s a great recreation of Cinderella (with a twist). Cinder’s family is fantastically horrible, except for Peony.  She’s just adorable.  Prince Kai is okay.  I mean, he’s cute sure,  but he still has some growing up to do.   I think there will be changes to his character in the coming books with everything he has to deal with.   I’m not sure what to think of Queen Levana yet. I mean, she’s terrible, yes. But I want to see where things go with her.  I think Iko’s my favorite character (not that the others aren’t great, but she’s funny and great comic relief).

“It sounds dirty and stinky,” said Iko.  “How would you know?”said Cinder.  “You don’t have scent receptors.” “I have a fantastic imagination.”

Cinder twisted her lips. “Do you think it could have a virus?” “Maybe her programming was overwhelmed by Prince Kai’s uncanny hotness.” Cinder flinched.  “Can we please not talk about the prince?” “I don’t think that will be possible.  You’re working on his android, after all.  Just think about the things she knows, the things she’s seen and —” Iko’s voice sputtered.  “Do you think she’s seen him in the nude?” “Oh, for heaven’s sake.” Cinder yanked off her gloves and tossed them onto the table. “You’re not helping.”

Stars.  This is a wonderful start to what’s sure to be a fantastic series.
Read it.  Read it now.

2 thoughts on “Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

  1. I read this book a month or two ago and I really enjoyed but I haven’t picked up the 2nd book yet. I like to wait a while between books in a series, but it’d be great to see what other newbies think of book 2. Have you read it yet or are you waiting a while? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read the rest of them and I’m so excited for Winter. I just haven’t written my reviews for the rest of the series yet. Sometimes when I like a book, it’s the hardest review to write. So, I’m letting my thoughts marinate a while. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series when you read it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

