Cinema Saturday: The DUFF

In case you were unaware, I LOVED the book, The DUFF. The movie, was admittedly different but still fun. And only a little bit of a let down.

842c0342c0bab40a291b42d02a0e1f8d

 

Details
Based on: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
Released in theaters: February 20, 2015
Released on DVD: May 26th 2015
Directed by:  Ari Sandel
Screenplay by: Josh A. Cagan
Starring: Mae Witman, Robbie Amell, Bella Thorne, Bianca A. Santos, Skyler Samuels
My book review
Movie trailer:

Soundtrack Highlights 

  • How Come You Don’t Want Me – Tegan and Sara
  • All Night- Icona Pop
  • Nothing Left to Lose – Kari Kimmel

Honorable Mention: Favorite Record – Fall Out Boy

Differences

  • Bianca and Wes are suddenly neighbors. The tension in Bianca’s family life isn’t even mentioned.
  • Speaking of family life, her mom is around quite often instead of the dad. It was weird.
  • I HATED that Queen Bitch takes videos of Bianca and makes them go viral. I get it, it’s keeping up with the ages but at the same time, it’s so cruel.
  • It kinda turned into another Pretty Woman scenario, which was alright since I loved the scenes of Bianca & Wes hanging out at the mall.
  • There’s no secret relationship between Bianca & Wes in the movie.  And there’s no sex.  None. At. All.

Ehh moments

  • Bianca’s “big date” moment was just ridiculous and a let down.
  • I always squirm when the video goes viral but that’s just me.

What I loved

  • Mae Witman.
  • Mae Witman. (Fun fact: Kody Keplinger wanted her as Bianca when she dream casted the film)
  • Mae Witman. And okay, the entire cast is brilliant.
  • They kept to the message of the story; everyone feels like a DUFF sometimes and it’s okay.
  • It’s hilarious.

“You’re only as awesome as you think you are.”

Would I recommend this movie?
Yes, and no. (But mostly yes) If you absolutely loved the book like I did, then you might be a little put off because it’s very different.  Bianca loses a lot of her great (sexual) relationship with Wes.  I think that takes something away from her character but it doesn’t make me dislike the film.  One of the great things I loved about Bianca from the book was that she was a fierce DUFF and that comes across in the film, too.  I just can’t help it.  The movie ends and I have a huge smile on my face.  The spirit of the movie is the same as the book despite the differences.  I’ll still like the book more but I can’t help it, I’m going to watch this movie again and again.  It’s a great addition to the teen movie genre, and I feel like it will hold it’s place there well against all the classics.

6 thoughts on “Cinema Saturday: The DUFF

  1. I loved the movie! I haven’t read the book yet, and I heard that it’s definitely different from the book. I am actually quite hesitant on reading it since I am all too familiar with Kody Keplinger. Her heroines are always not as likeable…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true. But I think the larger audience could have handled it to an extent. However, I don’t think that story line would have translated well into film which is most likely why they changed it to begin with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

