Rat Queens, Volume One: Sass and Sorcery

20299683Rating: 4 Stars
Published: April 2014
Genre: Graphic Novels
Favorite Quote:

“Hey look at you hiding away by your –”
“Go away.”
“Pardon?”
“This is my party. This book.  The book is good.  It asks no questions. The book lets me engage it on my terms.”
“Okayyyyy.”
“Social Dee strikes again.”

IMG_6767

Rat Queens is written by Kurtis J. Wiebe and illustrated by Roc Upchurch. Summary from the back of the book, “They’re a pack of booze guzzling, death dealing battle maidens-for-hire and they’re in the business of killing all the gods’ creatures for profit.  Meet Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Theif.  This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent, monster killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!”

I heard many good things about this.  I was able to buy this when there was a price drop on Amazon.  When it came in the mail, I was so excited because I read the back of it and it sounded too good to be real.

The heroines kicked butt and knew how to get sh*t done. (I’ve been trying not to swear as much, guys.  It’s a work in progress.) There’s violence and intrigue.  The characters are relatable.  They’re hilarious and sassy.  The dialogue is on point.

IMG_6768

The art work is awesome.  The story is easy to follow.  I want more.   I love that they unabashedly have sex. They drink a lot. And they’re fighters.  They’re realistic depictions of women.  I love them. They’re a great addition to the graphic novel world.  Woo hoo for strong female characters!

That’s it for my tiny review! I was super pleased with this and I cannot wait to read the next volumes.  If you like graphic novels, then you should add this to your TBR.  If you like strong female characters, then you should add this to your TBR.

Have you read Rat Queens? What do you think? Share your thoughts below!

2 thoughts on “Rat Queens, Volume One: Sass and Sorcery

Leave a Reply

