Wait for you (Wait for you #1)

17314430

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: February 2013
Genre: New Adult // Romance
Favorite Quote: 

“We are your friends.  It is the law of friendship that you tell us things you don’t want to tell us.”

I read this one sitting.  I didn’t think I would but I found that I couldn’t put it down! There was just no good place to stop (and I certainly didn’t mind). This book got me out of my reading slump, and for that, I am very grateful.

I’ve read books by Jennifer L. Armentrout before and I’ve loved them.  But this was my first foray into her books written as J. Lynn.  I get it now.  I totally get the hype because it’s so compelling. The stories aren’t perfect, and sure, they have some cliches.  But I’m not reading this thinking it’s the next Jane Austen.  I’m reading this for fun. I’m reading it to get lost in a story.  I’m not reading it for literary value or to critique it until there’s nothing left.

I think it handles the rape aspect very well.  From what I’ve read, this book really takes to heart what it means to be a victim of rape.  In this case, no one believes her which, unfortunately is a tired trope that happens far too much in reality.  I’d like to see a book take on what it means to be believed despite the circumstances.  Of course, her dark secret is pretty obvious and easy to guess.  I think the secret part was drawn out a little too much but at the same time, it shows how hard it is to admit even to herself.  That’s normal.

As for the person who was sending her emails and texting her rude messages, it makes sense, too in the context.  However, I think it was pushed a little too far to the extreme.  It clearly wasn’t her fault that the rapist was never put behind bars.  There are too many people who are scared to come forward because of the way the system works.

I liked Avery’s friends.  They were funny and real.  Talking about boys and not pushing the serious topics because their friendship is new.  I actually had friends like them in my freshman year of college so it was fun to go down memory lane.

“I would be clapping like a seal right now if I weren’t so fucking hung over, just so you know.  Inside I am doing happy jumping jacks for you with glittery pom poms.”

As for Cam’s family, they’re wonderful and I would love more of them.  I don’t think Cam read as much as a “bad boy” as a protective older brother.  Sure, he did something shitty but he doesn’t really have “anger issues”.  As for the former “player” or whatever, he grew up, simple as that.  It wasn’t a cliche, I think.

“I think the key to the start of any good relationship is to remember how the other person likes their coffee.”

I thought this was a decent read.  I have this as an ebook, and I’m not entirely sure if I’ll read the next books in this series but it’s still worth the read, I think.  It’s definitely on par with Beautiful Disaster or Broken at Love.  Fun, sexy, and a little cliched but perfectly enjoyable.

2 thoughts on “Wait for you (Wait for you #1)

    1. It’s one of those things where I wasn’t expecting much and sure, they were cliche but I just devoured it anyway. Sometimes, I think a light fluffy read is perfect despite its imperfections.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

