Reading Habits Tag

I was tagged by dreamingthroughliterature way back when and have been saving this post for a rainy day.  I love filling these things out but usually wait to post them when I need a filler in my posting schedule.  Thanks for the tag (and sorry it took so long)!!

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Yes and no.  I guess I just have multiple places.  I can read on my couch if no one’s watching anything interesting on TV.  I like to read on my bed or in my armchair in my room.  I read a lot at the kitchen counter and I have no idea why because it’s not comfortable at all.  

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Both! I try to remember my bookmarks but sometimes they just get left in books I’ve started but not finished so I then have a shortage so I’ll use a random piece of paper.  It honestly just depends on what’s on hand.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
It really just depends on why I’m stopping.  If I’m reading before bed, I’ll typically end at a chapter end.  However, if I’m reading to kill time and my name gets called or I have to go for whatever reason, I don’t mind just putting the book down.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
Yes, because I typically read on breaks from work so I have to multitask and eat my lunch or dinner.  Also, if I’m having a leisurely breakfast by myself, I’ll read.   I read a lot when drinking coffee (I spend a lot of time at Starbucks). But I try not to get food crumbs/stains on/in my books as much as possible.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I’ll read during commercials if I’m watching live TV.  I can read while the TV’s on and a show/movie I like isn’t on.  But I tend to get sucked into what’s on TV if I like it even if I’ve seen it a million times.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
Several at once.  I’ll put down a book immediately if I can’t get into it and pick up another one.  Or I’ll switch books if I’m not in the mood for a certain topic, etc.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
I take a book with me everywhere I go even if I know I’m not going to have time to read it because WHAT IF I DO? I do a lot of reading in cars and on my break at work. In the summer, I love to read on the beach.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently in my head, of course.  I don’t think I have the right voice for reading aloud. It’s just not a skill I developed.  I try sometimes, but I end up stumbling over words trying to get them right. I want to do the voices and get the right tone.  I should clarify, in class growing up, I do fine reading out loud when the teacher/professor calls on me. It’s only for stories not academic articles.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
I really try not to read ahead but sometimes it just happens.  I can’t help it. I’ll skim past an uncomfortable scene just to known it ends okay.  I’m strange.  I hate when characters get into awkward situations.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
Again, it depends on the edition of the book, where I got it, etc.  It’s not a simple answer.  I have books that I’ve broken the spine on but then I have others where I would never dare to do that.

11. Do you write in your books?
I used to write in my books for school to keep track of ideas/take notes.  But then I stopped because I felt like I wasn’t contributing anything valuable to the book.  I thought my ideas were silly so I stopped. Now I just don’t do it anymore.  But I would high light my books for school once I stopped writing in them.  They were a resource, a learning tool.  But books for my personal collection, I tend to keep unmarked.

 

I tag all of you if you liked reading this and learning about my habits! Go forth and make your own Reading Habits post! Enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

