Trouble is a Friend of Mine

23354047

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: August 2015
Genre: YA
Favorite Quote:

“You know it’s gonna be one of those nights when you start it with moving a body.”

Summary taken from Goodreads:

Preparing to survive a typical day of being Digby’s friend wasn’t that different from preparing to survive the apocalypse.

Her first day not in school (because she cut) in her new hometown that will soon be her old hometown (because she’s getting out of Dodge as fast as she can) Zoe meets Digby. Or rather, Digby decides he’s going to meet Zoe and get her to help him find missing teenager. Zoe isn’t sure how, but Digby—the odd and brilliant and somehow…attractive?—Digby always gets what he wants, including her help on several illegal ventures. Before she knows it, Zoe has vandalized an office complex with fake snow, pretended to buy drugs alongside a handsome football player dressed like the Hulk, had a throw-down with a possible cult, and, oh yeah, saved her new hometown (which might be worth making her permanent hometown after all.)
This book kept me engaged and I just had to keep reading. The beginning wasn’t as compelling because I was still getting to know what Digby’s role in everything was. But it didn’t take me long to get hooked.  I had just recently heard about this book and once I read the description and the comparison to Veronica Mars I knew I had to get it & read it right away.  I was not disappointed one bit.  I had to stay up late finishing the book because I just HAD to know how it was going to end. 

“What? I didn’t mean that.  I meant, what’s the deal with you and Henry.”
“Oh, that.” Digby looked sad. “We used to be friends.  A long time ago.”

And I mean, come on.  Hello, lovely VM reference!  The marshmallow inside me squealed in excitement.  But besides that, I loved the snappy dialogue and the Veronica Marsesque plot line. I loved the pop culture reference and Digby’s smarts. I loved loved loved Digby and Zoe. I hated the ending (read: adored) because it let me wanting more and boy, do I want more.

I liked that Zoe was the narrator so we had to keep guessing at what would happen next since she never knew. I do want to get inside Digby’s head though. That would be fascinating. On that note, I think Digby started to take over a little bit.  This was still Zoe’s story but Digby was very much running the show.  I still think it worked but everything pretty much revolved around Digby.  I’m okay with that especially since Zoe was the new girl in town and sometimes it’s easier to latch on to someone and get swept away than flounder on your own.

The supporting cast of characters were all great and unique in their own way. I wish there was more getting to know them, though. When I read a book, I tend to get immersed. Which is why I always want to know more about the various other characters. The one friend Zoe makes on her own ends up using her to get to Digby.  That’s sad.  I wish that didn’t happen.  I hope in the next book we see more of their friendship.  I hope it evolves.

There was nothing that I didn’t like. This is a book I’d recommend especially to any VM fan out there. It was a nice change to all the fantasy I’ve been reading but it had the same fast pace.

Side note: I could totally see this as a tv show. It would have the right pacing and be absolutely addicting.

The sequel is aptly titled Trouble Makes A Comeback and who knows, there might be more where that comes from.  Regardless, even if she doesn’t write more to this series, I’m going to be on the look out for whatever Stephanier Tromly writes next.

So go! Go and find this book, I promise it’s worth your while.

2 thoughts on “Trouble is a Friend of Mine

Leave a Reply

