The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #s 0.1- 0.5)

18594430

Rating: 4.5 Stars
Published: March 2014
Genre: YA // Fantasy

“The girl who’d taken on a Pirate Lord and his entire island, the girl who’d stolen Asterion horses and raced along the beach in the Red Desert, the girl who’d sat on her own rooftop, watching the sun rise over Avery, the girl who’d felt alive with possibility…that girl was gone.”

These novellas tell the adventures of Celaena Sardothien before she was sent to Endovier. They give details into her time to Arobynn Hammel, the Silent Assassins, her dealings with pirates, and of course, her relationship with Sam Cortland and how they were set up.

I didn’t want to read The Assassin and the Empire.  I couldn’t.  I knew that it would be the story of how Sam died and Celaena got sent to Endovier and I couldn’t.  Too much pain. Too much sadness.  But then I put my big girl panties on and read it.  Sometimes, you really just need a good cry.  Joy and sadness have to go together (Inside Out taught me that.  Not really, because I already knew that but still.)

“I love you,” he repeated, shaking her again. “I have for years. But if I asked you to pick, you’d choose Arobynn, and I. Can’t. Take. It.”
“You’re a damned idiot,” she breathed grabbing the front of his tunic. “You’re a moron and an ass and a damned idiot.” He looked like she had hit him. But she went on, and grasped both sides of his face. “Because I’d pick you.”

This is my favorite cover in the whole series.  There’s just something about it that I love.

I’m usually not one to read novellas in a series because I don’t find them worth it.  They’re either too short, about a character I don’t care about, or not as well written.  I will now be thinking twice about reading novellas in the future- in the good way.  This book totally changed my outlook on them.  But then again, I really don’t understand why this just wasn’t a prequel in its own right.  The novellas were all sequential, just with tiny minuscule time jumps.  It didn’t have to be a book of 4 100(ish) page novellas, it could have just been a prequel. But whatever, I still loved it.

Now that I’ve read this, I want to go back and read Throne of Glass.  I kinda wish I had read it before I read the entire series.  Maybe before Crown of Midnight so I knew what was going on but not too much of what was going on.

I also loved that, once again, the world was expanded.  You get more of an understanding of the world outside of Adarlan, which is always helpful.

There wasn’t a moment where I didn’t love this book.  I savoured it.  I didn’t want it to end. I love how it showed a side of Celaena that we haven’t really seen before.  She only merely mentioned some of her adventures in passing but we actually got to see her in action as Arobynn’s pet.  You can really grasp what kind of person Arobynn really is with these stories.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I cannot wait to get my hands on Queen of Shadows.  I want it immediately.  I’m so happy that I’m doing absolutely nothing on September 1st except waiting for the book to arrive then immediately devouring it.  

2 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #s 0.1- 0.5)

Leave a Reply

