A Court of Thorn and Roses (A Court of Thorn and Roses #1)

16096824

Rating: 5 Beastly Stars
Published: May 2015
Genre: YA// Fantasy // Fairy Tale Retelling
Favorite Quote:

“Because your human joy fascinates me—the way you experience things, in your life span, so wildly and deeply and all at once, is … entrancing. I’m drawn to it, even when I know I shouldn’t be, even when I try not to be.”

All Feyre wants to do is provide for her family. She hunts and takes care of her two sisters and their maimed father. One day, in the woods, she kills a wolf.  It wasn’t an ordinary wolf, it was a Fae Wolf. Because of the Treaty that exists between the Fae and humans, Feyre is given an option: be killed in retribution for the Fae wolf, or go back with the Fae who’s offering the deal and live with him at his estate in Pyrthian. This retelling of Beauty & the Beast is beautiful and filled with magic.  Allow yourself to swept away to the beautiful and dangerous world of the Fae with Feyre.

While comparisons can be made with Cruel Beauty, I think they both hold their own quite nicely. There’s a lot of differences in terms of plot and world-building. I honestly couldn’t tell you which one I liked better. I think they’re both great.  It hard to find a fairy tale retelling that I don’t like.

The writing style is a little bit different from Throne of Glass since it’s written in the first person POV of Feyre. I liked being inside her head.  It made the twists and turns of the story we all know and love to be revealed at the proper moments in the story. Though, I hope that since we’ve had a nice introduction to the characters in this book that the next one might be a multi POV. I’d like to get inside Tamlin or Rhysand’s head, please.

Be warned, this book is hot as hell. Sarah J. Maas doesn’t beat around the bush, here.  It’s a nice change of pace.

I loved all the characters, and the storyline.  The lore was interesting and different.  I’m really enjoying reading about Fae.  I like that the Fae here are different than the ones in Throne of Glass, though, it would have been really interesting if they took place in the same world just in a different part of it. In any case,  I enjoyed it.

Tamlin was a fantastic beast.  I liked the world he inhabits and I love how he followed the classic Beast story line with a twist.  I was slightly disappointed that there were no talking pieces of furniture, etc. I liked that they were wearing masks, though.

Feyre’s love of painting felt, at first, a little forced.  But then I enjoyed it.  I also liked that she couldn’t write.  Part of me felt that Sarah J. Maas was trying a little too hard to make Feyre different from Celaena but I quickly got over that.

Rhysand is the Hades of the story and I hated him at first. He makes a deal with Feyre when she gets herself in some trouble.  I’m so intrigued for the continuation of this story, though, for now I’m still on Team Tamlin. I have a feeling that’s going to change even though I kinda don’t want it to, at least not right now.

This book deserves all the hype it’s getting.  I just want to read more!  Untitled ACOTAR #2 is coming out sometime in 2016 (hopefully) with the third following in 2017.  I cannot wait.

“I was loosened, a top whirling around and around, and I didn’t know who I danced with or what they looked like, only that I had become the music and the fire and the night, and there was nothing that could slow me down.”

If you couldn’t tell, I adored this book. It’s official, I’m going to read absolutely everything that Sarah J. Maas writes.

What’s your favorite Beauty & the Beast retelling? Have you read this one? Thoughts? Share them below! 

Leave a Reply

